BTP clamps for AX brakes with Powercordz

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
sedluk
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:10 am

by sedluk

I am looking at installing some Power Cordz on my Ax Lightness brakes and was looking for the best way to tie up the knot.
This was one I found on the fairwheel site.

Image

Does anyone have any experience with these?

t3z
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:27 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

by t3z

I would be interested in this too.
Sorry to hijack but will Powercordz fit on the regular clamp bolt thing on AX Orion brakes?

by Weenie


User avatar
dadoflam08
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:25 am
Location: Southern Great Southern Land

by dadoflam08

I would also like a definitive picture of what is intended for these - Bernhard from BTP provide this description by email after some prompting:

Instructions for Ax Brake Bolts

Hello

ok i will try to explain it in english.

You must put the power cord to the hole in the middle turn it around the bolt and put trough the outer hole and fix it.
on both sides of the bolt are the same size for the hexagon tool .

bets regrads Bernhard


Haven't got around to trying it yet - good luck
'83 De Rosa Professional |'11 Baum Corretto |'08 BMC Pro Machine >6 |'86 Pinarello Team |'72 Cinelli SC |'58 Bianchi |'71 Cinelli SC |'78 Masi GC |'83 La Redoute Motobecane |'94 Banesto Pegoretti |'88 Bianchi X4 |'48 Super Elliott |'99 Look Kg281

User avatar
pritchet74
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 10:38 pm
Location: NorCal

by pritchet74

I used those with my Orions. Loved 'em. Worked perfect. If you just look at the pic when you have the parts in your hand it is easy to figure the knot out. You just have to get the cord length right, but that is easier than you would expect too. Good luck!
Have you ever wondered if there was more to life, other than being really, really, ridiculously good looking?

sedluk
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:10 am

by sedluk

This is the way I did it, so far no problems with slippage.

Image
Image

Simon BP
Posts: 1275
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:46 pm
Location: Denmark

by Simon BP

I mounted mine the exact same way as the first picture, but they are a pain in the a$$ to install, and not much room for adjustment so don't think it's a 5 minute job because you mighthave to uninstall and re-install the cables a few times before you get it right..(at least I did).
First time I installes them, I did as Bernahrd says, but I had problems with slippage. But that is no problem when you do it the same way as in picture 1(if it starts to slip, it will tighten on it self and stop)

gumgardner
Posts: 3553
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:47 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

by gumgardner

These are hard to find. Just wanted people to know there is a set up for sale on eBay. I would get them but I have a set on it's way.

Martin1977
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:03 am
Location: Czech Republic

by Martin1977

I also decided to try AX orion brakes with Powercordz. I was not lucky when I tried to order BTP clamps, so I taught I would give decrciption to someone dealing with aluminium machining. In the end I found local guy who makes custom carbon parts and he promised to make carbon clamps for me :-)
He told me, that he will need some time to perform durability and strenght tests first, but there should be no problem. I'll post pictures as soon as I have them :-)

Martin1977
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:03 am
Location: Czech Republic

by Martin1977

so I've just got pictures of first prototype of my new clamps.
Guy who makes them for me is quite busy and this is just his side job, so it takes some time, but I'm patient :D
Some tests needs to be done on this prototype and if it is strong enough, he'll make my new clamps same like this one.

Powercordz Z.jpg

gumgardner
Posts: 3553
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:47 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

by gumgardner

Mattias Hellore is making me a set of these.

User avatar
dadoflam08
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:25 am
Location: Southern Great Southern Land

by dadoflam08

Martin1977 wrote:so I've just got pictures of first prototype of my new clamps.
Guy who makes them for me is quite busy and this is just his side job, so it takes some time, but I'm patient :D
Some tests needs to be done on this prototype and if it is strong enough, he'll make my new clamps same like this one.

Powercordz Z.jpg


Hi Martin - do these have the treaded tightening screws in them? - I got the BTP ones evenually through a Weight Weenie boutique parts seller in Holland - its not obvious from the pictures but the BTP versions have a grub screw at each end that you tighten against the cords to clamp them with an allen key once the cords are installed - thought this would be useful info
Must admit I haven't got around to installing mine yet - still using standard DA cable with I-links which works surprisingly well.
Good Luck with the R&D
'83 De Rosa Professional |'11 Baum Corretto |'08 BMC Pro Machine >6 |'86 Pinarello Team |'72 Cinelli SC |'58 Bianchi |'71 Cinelli SC |'78 Masi GC |'83 La Redoute Motobecane |'94 Banesto Pegoretti |'88 Bianchi X4 |'48 Super Elliott |'99 Look Kg281

voodoojar
Posts: 659
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:50 pm

by voodoojar

Here is my first attempt at making some clamps. This is 5.5mm carbon fiber tube. I'm going to try and tap them in the morning for an m4 screw. If these end up not being strong enough I'll go back to aluminium.
Image

shyeoh
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 4:22 am

by shyeoh

can i know what is the differents between the use of powercordz and standard factory ?

voodoojar
Posts: 659
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:50 pm

by voodoojar

Here are some powercordz bolts I made for my brakes. I know they're ugly. I have 5 sets of these in various degrees of completion. They are carbon fiber with a m3 nylon set screw. The set screw isn't actually needed if you run the powercordz right.
Image
Image

by Weenie


User avatar
andy2
in the industry
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Luxembourg / Sweden

by andy2

gumgardner wrote:Mattias Hellore is making me a set of these.


I wish I would have asked me, there is a BTP set sitting around here:-).
rolobikes

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post