HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Di2 RD stopped working
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:19 am
Posts: 9
Hi so the RD on my Di2 DA has stopped working, FD still working. Battery is fully charged, and both levers show a solidd green light when i hold in the shift buttons, which makes me think the shifters are fine. When I hold the junction box in to finetune the light flashes red once and thats it. It does not go into fine tuning mode. Ive also tried plugging the RD cable in and out, any other ideas?

Can anyone help?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Di2 RD stopped working
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:40 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:16 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1976
Location: NoVA/DC
First, look over all wires and plugs, looking for abraded areas, any zipties that may be too tight on them, causing a break. Then I would pull all plugs and look for corrosion, clean, put a touch of grease on the plastic for sealing, and plug it back in.
If that doesn't reveal anything, take it to a shop with the diagnostics box.
Internal wires or external? if internal, there are 4 more plugs inside that rely on heavy duty heat shrink for sealing. I've seen some people leave theirs off, with consequences.

Any crashes? One RD stopped signaling to the FD of its position, so the FD no longer trimmed, after a pretty big crash. so if you know someone w another RD, that's something to check. If you know someone with another di2 bike, you could easily plug your stuff into his to locate the culprit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:19 am
Posts: 9
Hmm tried all that and still cant get RD to work.

All the local bike stores in Brighton, UK, dont seem to have a clue about Di2. Certainly none have the Di2 diagnostics kit. Anyone know where I could find a shop that has it?

Or anyone from Brighton, perhaps I could try plugging my rear derauileur into another set-up to see if it works? That way I could eliminate the possibility that the RD is dead. Could be the interternal junction box, can someone explain how/iof I could test that. I now have access to it and looks like it is soldered togtther rather than plugged in like the other external components?

Any adivce much appreciated.

Oh also, if the RD was in crash protection mode, how can i tell and how would i get it out of that state? Is it safe to force the RD to the middle of the block, current its in the 27! Could do with in the 15, at least then I could turbpo for now.

Cheers,


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ferrarista, Method01, WheresWaldo, Yahoo [Bot] and 44 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. red rear shifter not working

in Road

vtxrider

4

317

Sat Oct 04, 2014 9:15 am

vtxrider View the latest post


It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:15 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB