Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Wed Jun 29, 2016 7:45 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 343
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Hello,
I'd like to ask the juniors or other people who are aware of this:
we're obligated to ride with a 52-14 as our maximum gear
last year, i had 52-39 and the veloce cassette 14-23 suited me well.
this year, i'm changing to 52-42. so i'd like to have a larger cog.
14-25 of 26, but as far as I know, this are not available.
how would you guys do this?
Is it possible to ride a shimano ultegra cassette on a campa chorus-record drivetrain or is this a stupid question?
or am I obligated to buy 2cassettes and mix them?

Thanks

Koen

_________________
Gewoon bluve goan!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:20 am
Posts: 1715
Location: Seattle, Wa
I own a 14-25 cassette. Shimano makes them.

_________________
www.ChrisDiRe.com

Adam Hansen wrote:
Sponsors should not have to go, its the doped riders that should be shot instead, in the knee caps would be nice.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 6:02 pm
Posts: 507
Location: The Netherlands
yep me too, last year I rode 16-27, now 14-25 (both Shimano Ultegra cassettes)

_________________
This is my Bike. There are many like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my bike is useless. Without my bike, I am useless.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 343
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
I know that ultegra has this cassettes, but is a combination shimano cassette and campa drivetrain possible?

_________________
Gewoon bluve goan!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 2047
Location: Wateringen, The Netherlands.
I know a guy who got Campa. Record on his bike and the Shimano casette on his rear-wheel (disc, so for TT's)

when I had campa. I had 14-25 Veloce,
maybe you can buy the rings seperate of another manufractor which are compatible with Campa.

_________________
Chris Kuiper
www.KuiperTrading.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 149
Location: Helsinki, Finland
I think mixing cassettes would be your best choice. I know I would do that.

There is also Miche 14-26 cassette. Maybe try that, but I think it's a littlebit heavier than Veloce and does not shift as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:43 pm
Posts: 100
Koen wrote:
is a combination shimano cassette and campa drivetrain possible?


yes


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 9:41 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Mol Belgium
Koen wrote:
I know that ultegra has this cassettes, but is a combination shimano cassette and campa drivetrain possible?


I've raced a whole year on a Shimano cassette in combo with Campa Record and everything worked smooth so...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:25 pm
Posts: 1440
Location: Oakland CA
Koen wrote:
I know that ultegra has this cassettes, but is a combination shimano cassette and campa drivetrain possible?


Yes it is possible. I have shimano cassettes on all my bikes (both campy and shimano). If you use a shimano cassette you will have to use a shimano chain, as far as everything else its OK. But the downside is i have to ajust the derailleur every ride if i want it to be "clean and crisp" this isnt hard, you just ajust the aduster thats by the derailleur.

_________________
My CAAD 9 BB30


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 343
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
adjust?
mm, i'm not that good at 'adjusting', i always screw up bigtime.
that's a great downside (for me for sure)

_________________
Gewoon bluve goan!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:25 pm
Posts: 1440
Location: Oakland CA
Koen wrote:
adjust?
mm, i'm not that good at 'adjusting', i always screw up bigtime.
that's a great downside (for me for sure)


yeah its a big downside, but all you have to do is twist it, and its very easy to learn how to... but its kind of hard to teach you over the internet...

_________________
My CAAD 9 BB30


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 343
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
and you need to 'redo' it everytime you put your wheel in or every time you go training?
maybe is mixing a better option then, but how?

_________________
Gewoon bluve goan!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 149
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Well, use the Miche cassette then. That way you don't have to mix or adjust anything.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:02 pm
Posts: 368
Location: Belgium
I have a 14-26 cassette here that I used on our training camp & the tour du valromey . it was custom made but expensive! 90€

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:42 am
Posts: 938
Location: Calgary
It's pretty easy to order the two bottom cogs from a Veloce 13-26 or 12-25 cassette and use them in place of the 22 and 23 that comes with the Campy junior cassette. All the other alternatives are less attractive. The separate cogs are available through larger distributors such as QBP.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Red 22 cassette noisy

in Road

Simon430

7

636

Fri Nov 06, 2015 10:58 pm

Zigmeister View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. SRAM Red RD with 28t cassette

in Road

NiFTY

13

962

Mon Apr 04, 2016 6:59 am

addictR1 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. stupid cassette question

in Road

spud

11

750

Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:54 pm

ms6073 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Sram etap & 11-30 cassette

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

rickytek

15

1092

Tue Jun 21, 2016 2:34 pm

Marin View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. SRAM Red eTap With 11 X 32 Cassette

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 4 ]

in Road

peacefulloflove

51

5282

Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:40 am

m66 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot], Bing [Bot], erik$, roeman and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited