HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:43 am
Posts: 236
Hello Cyclists. I just installed and started using my P2M, and I'm glad to report it's working great. However I'm wondering if you can help me with a question I'm having.

I'm having issues understanding if the Power2Max is picking up my cadence or if the GSC unit is picking up the cadence. I ultimately want to be able to get rid of the magnet on my crank and be able to get a speed reading from my GSC without grabbing a cadence reading.

Can this be done? Will I have to get a specific speed only ANT+ sensor to make this work? Anybody with any prior experience in the matter please chime in. Thanks!

_________________
Cervélo S2 2012 Red
Great minds think alike... sadly, so do the mediocre ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:48 am
Posts: 756
Location: Brighton, UK
Im not sure which cadence your computer is picking up but out of curiosity why are you using the extra garmin speed sensor? Is it for indoor riding? At least outside I run a power2max without the sensor and just get the speed from the GPS positioning and cadence from the powermeter. I personally love the clean look of a bike with no sensors but thats just me

_________________
Canyon Ultimate SLX 2013 + DA9070 + Red Quarq + Corima Aero+ MCC (6.3kg)
Canyon AeroRoad + DA9000 + Lightning Power2Max + MCU's (6.5kg)
Cervelo P4 + G3 Powertap (7.78kg)
Cervelo SLC + SRAM Red 2013 + Red Quarq (6.8kg)


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:03 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Posts: 1433
aerozy wrote:
Im not sure which cadence your computer is picking up but out of curiosity why are you using the extra garmin speed sensor? Is it for indoor riding? At least outside I run a power2max without the sensor and just get the speed from the GPS positioning and cadence from the powermeter. I personally love the clean look of a bike with no sensors but thats just me


+1

_________________
See My Bike & Tillquist's Kitchen !

Looking for a Garmin Edge Out-Front mount, click here !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 9:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:43 am
Posts: 236
It's for indoor riding. Yes, I am aware that the specific metric I'm looking for is almost completely useless in an indoor training session even, but I'm a data junkie.

I personally would love to not have any sensors on my bike as well. It looks way more flush, but I haven't seen anything that looks remotely discreet except for a skewer speed sensor that won't even work due to my trainer using it's own reinforced skewer.

_________________
Cervélo S2 2012 Red
Great minds think alike... sadly, so do the mediocre ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 73
If you have a separate speed/cadence sensor and a magnet on the crank, then the Garmin will use the cadence data from that in preference to the P2Max's cadence data.

If you get rid of the crank magnet, you'll then get cadence data from the P2Max and still get speed data from the speed sensor.

You can easily tell where the cadence data is coming from because the P2Max's cadence data is noticeably laggy compared to that from a cadence sensor + crank magnet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1526
Location: Houston, Texas
CerveloBert wrote:
I ultimately want to be able to get rid of the magnet on my crank and be able to get a speed reading from my GSC without grabbing a cadence reading.

Take a look at the 'Can I pair a different company's speed and cadence sensor to my Edge 500' FAQ (sorry link wont embed - http://support.garmin.com/support/searc ... es?caseId={b4305250-b8e9-11de-4c3e-000000000000}) to get a better understanding of the menus used to configure ANT+ sensors. Simply put, when you paired your Power2Max with the Edge, if you did not follow the prompts to configure the P2M cadence, have paired the GSC-10, and have not changed the default 'Spd/Cad' selection under Settings > Bike Settings > [Bike Profile] > ANT+ Spd/Cad., then your Garmin should be getting cadence from the GSC-10.

_________________
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:11 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:43 am
Posts: 236
Thank you MSC, I got the situation under control after looking at your link.

_________________
Cervélo S2 2012 Red
Great minds think alike... sadly, so do the mediocre ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chazmtb, Exabot [Bot], Gearjunkie, Google Adsense [Bot], itsacarr, mypz4, simnorm, User Name and 62 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Power2max FSA Gossamer 110bcd DA7950 compatibility?

in Road

djm

0

387

Fri Nov 01, 2013 5:14 pm

djm View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. DA 7800/7900 compatibility question

in Road

PhilWalterNZ

0

255

Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:35 pm

PhilWalterNZ View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. stages or power2max?

in Road

davidalone

9

2367

Wed May 21, 2014 3:51 pm

JensW View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Power2Max HUGE Price Drop!

[ Go to page: 1 ... 6, 7, 8 ]

in Road

CerveloBert

115

13529

Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:17 am

steve6690 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 10 speed and 11 speed compatibility question

in Road

pamountainbiker

3

325

Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:51 am

kramnnim View the latest post


It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:13 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB