Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sun May 01, 2016 5:26 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken

Those bugs will be fixed ASAP (next few days) as they are unfortunately more serious than expected.

If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:44 pm 
Offline
Formerly known as wassertreter

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:08 am
Posts: 2238
Location: Pedal Square
I'm having the hardest time setting up my Avid BB7 with Ultegra 6700 STIs. With the caliper adjuster almost completely relaxed I can get the disc spinning freely, but don't have enough cable pull to lock up the wheel. With the adjuster on the more closed side there is no way to have the disc spinning without grinding. Disc is Shimano XTR, not the original Avid.

Am I screwed over by the 1:4 (or whatever) cable pull in with recent Shimano STIs?

(Wanted to run non-STIs anyway, but had the Ultegras around and itching to take the bike for a spin)

_________________
Bikes: Raw Ti, 650b flatbar CX


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:31 am
Posts: 227
May be a dumb question, but do you have road (silver) or MTB (black) BB7's ?

I've had no issue on 2 separate bikes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:51 am
Posts: 1825
Yes indeed.

It should be a pair of "BB7 Road", the cable pulls are completely different between the standard BB7 and the Road version.

The only slight issues you might have would be with the rear brakes, but that can be resolved with a inline cable adjuster mounted just before the cable mounts onto the top-tube.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:18 am 
Offline
Formerly known as wassertreter

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:08 am
Posts: 2238
Location: Pedal Square
I have the "road" version. Must try harder then ...

_________________
Bikes: Raw Ti, 650b flatbar CX


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:47 pm
Posts: 71
You must "pre load" the cable from the brake caliber. This makes sure that the wire is tigth. Then you adjust from the red knobs, brake pads clearance to the disc.
This has worked with me with all the manufactures: Campagnolo, Shimano and Sram.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:20 pm 
Offline
Formerly known as wassertreter

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:08 am
Posts: 2238
Location: Pedal Square
kampiakseli, thanks, that does the trick.

Seems like the first 10mm of cable pull or so are causing really little movement in the calipers. Preloading it slightly is the trick.

An inline adjuster for that would be handy. Anyone fitted a thread on the BB7? I'm tempted to give it a try.

_________________
Bikes: Raw Ti, 650b flatbar CX


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], beanbiken, Cyberduc748, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], KWalker, Yahoo [Bot] and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited