Avid BB7 with Ultegra 6700

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
HillRPete
Posts: 2292
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:08 am
Location: Pedal Square

by HillRPete

I'm having the hardest time setting up my Avid BB7 with Ultegra 6700 STIs. With the caliper adjuster almost completely relaxed I can get the disc spinning freely, but don't have enough cable pull to lock up the wheel. With the adjuster on the more closed side there is no way to have the disc spinning without grinding. Disc is Shimano XTR, not the original Avid.

Am I screwed over by the 1:4 (or whatever) cable pull in with recent Shimano STIs?

(Wanted to run non-STIs anyway, but had the Ultegras around and itching to take the bike for a spin)

by Weenie


MichaelB
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:31 am

by MichaelB

May be a dumb question, but do you have road (silver) or MTB (black) BB7's ?

I've had no issue on 2 separate bikes.

maxxevv
Posts: 1952
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:51 am

by maxxevv

Yes indeed.

It should be a pair of "BB7 Road", the cable pulls are completely different between the standard BB7 and the Road version.

The only slight issues you might have would be with the rear brakes, but that can be resolved with a inline cable adjuster mounted just before the cable mounts onto the top-tube.

HillRPete
Posts: 2292
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:08 am
Location: Pedal Square

by HillRPete

I have the "road" version. Must try harder then ...

kampiakseli
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:47 pm

by kampiakseli

You must "pre load" the cable from the brake caliber. This makes sure that the wire is tigth. Then you adjust from the red knobs, brake pads clearance to the disc.
This has worked with me with all the manufactures: Campagnolo, Shimano and Sram.

HillRPete
Posts: 2292
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:08 am
Location: Pedal Square

by HillRPete

kampiakseli, thanks, that does the trick.

Seems like the first 10mm of cable pull or so are causing really little movement in the calipers. Preloading it slightly is the trick.

An inline adjuster for that would be handy. Anyone fitted a thread on the BB7? I'm tempted to give it a try.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post