Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 4:52 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 6:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:35 am
Posts: 5072
Location: New York
Anyone replaced or know where I can get the info on replacing the strain gauges in a PowerTap hub?

Thanks

_________________
I never took drugs to improve my performance at any time. I will be willing to stick my finger into a polygraph test if anyone with big media pull wants to take issue. If you buy a signed poster now it will not be tarnished later. --Graeme Obree


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:20 pm
Posts: 182
Did you contact Saris? :noidea:

_________________
I only train on days that end with "y".

Eli


Top
   
Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:21 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:35 am
Posts: 5072
Location: New York
I'm trying to get this info for a friend here and told me if they replace them it's 300$.

If someone else has more info on this it would be great.

Thanks,

_________________
I never took drugs to improve my performance at any time. I will be willing to stick my finger into a polygraph test if anyone with big media pull wants to take issue. If you buy a signed poster now it will not be tarnished later. --Graeme Obree


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 9:37 pm
Posts: 1212
Location: it's raining, it must be uk
afaik the strain gauges are bonded to the "torque tube", if there's a failure/damage the tube assembly has to be replaced, hence the cost

the actual gauges will be securely bonded, so unless the fault is simple like a broken wire, i don't think there'll be much that can be done

i've not seen an open powertap firsthand, but from what i've read they don't sound easy to service


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:35 am
Posts: 5072
Location: New York
I have not taken apart my friends power meter yet so it could be as simple as a broken wire but I fail to see how the tube they are bonded on would need to be replaced.

_________________
I never took drugs to improve my performance at any time. I will be willing to stick my finger into a polygraph test if anyone with big media pull wants to take issue. If you buy a signed poster now it will not be tarnished later. --Graeme Obree


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. power2max power meter

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 ]

in Road

bikeracer99

35

2209

Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:12 am

PinaF8 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Power Meter For Campagnolo

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 ]

in Road

lw11

41

3505

Thu May 25, 2017 3:45 pm

moonoi View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Need some power meter advice

in Road

jeroenDG

10

1025

Fri Aug 12, 2016 4:37 pm

Briscoelab View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano 105 Power Meter

in Road

lwrncc

4

1127

Fri Jul 01, 2016 7:31 pm

2lo8 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. how do you think using bb30 or gxp on quarq power meter

in Road

wpccrunner

3

544

Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:15 am

audiojan View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HakeemT, Imaking20, nafaiutb, Yahoo [Bot] and 36 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited