Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sat Jul 30, 2016 12:41 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:49 pm
Posts: 448
Im about to get my new Arione saddle, and I was wondering what people do for their setup, leveled, nose down, nose up, or what should I start with, level and take it from there, just need little advice, thanks


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 3:08 am
Posts: 323
Location: Milton, Canada
Been fine with all 3 of mine being setup level.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:19 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Boulder, CO
Ive ridden the Airone level for years, you should be fine with it level.

_________________
www.cyclingtechnology.com


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:58 am
Posts: 94
Location: Southern California
How do people deal with the extra length of the Arione? I'm going from saddles that are 275mm in length to the Arione which I believe is 300mm in length. Do you put the extra length in front, in back, spread evenly fore and aft? Any other Arione tips are appreciated.

I've been riding the Arione for a month. Have mine slightly tilted up, but that's how I've always ridden saddles. I haven't tried it level. Regardless, I'm surprised how much I like this saddle.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:04 am
Posts: 182
Don't listen to me because I hate the Arione... but it worked least bad for me slightly nose down. However, I think this is one of those cases to go with conventional wisdom and try it level before messing around. As for fore-aft placement, I'd start close to your normal nose to handlebar measurement, sit on the saddle and see if your weight balance is similar to usual, then adjust from there...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 5:18 am
Posts: 703
Location: Cambridge, New Zealand
The Ariones extra length is all in the tail - the distance from nose to sit-point is the same as most standard mens racing saddles. So don't spread the length difference fore-aft

Most people that like them are happy with level or fractionally nose down. Pay attention to whether you get increased hip motion with the saddle - I move a lot of clients off the Arione because the rounded shoulders and wingflex give little support for the hip bones.

_________________
http://www.speedtheory.co.nz
http://www.velogicfit.com - 3D Motion Capture and Frame Finder Software


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:09 pm
Posts: 1235
Location: In the industry
nothing beats taking an allen wrench w u for a ride and try a few different positions. everyones sit bones r a bit different.

_________________
Fast falcons: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3mTPEuFcWk" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
www.falcobike.com
Facebook: falcobikeglobal


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:45 pm
Posts: 1440
Location: Stockholm, The Arctic...
In level.

Using 4 Ariones... :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Arizona
Dead level. I have a standard Arione and a CX carbon-railed version. Positioning is identical, but the CX seems considerably more firm. That being said, the CX is a only couple of months old versus the standard model that is several years old.


Top
   
 Post subject: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 12:41 am
Posts: 1600
The nylon Arione's do sag a little but I found they're more comfortable than the carbon shell version...I ride level but position for whatever suits you, taking an allen key on rides is handy...

_________________
"It never gets easier, you just go faster..." - Greg Lemond

"I enjoy climbing...I enjoy seeing people disappear behind me." - Robert Millar


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:45 pm
Posts: 1440
Location: Stockholm, The Arctic...
Note. There is CX braided and CX carbone. The later is even more firm than the braided.

Standad Arione is far too soft for me.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 5751
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Not that it matters, but 2 degrees down.

The best set up Ive seen so far though is watching a triathlete use one turned backwards.

_________________
charles@pezcyclingnews.com


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Fizik Arione set up
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:58 am
Posts: 94
Location: Southern California
I've been on the Arione Versus for a month now. The one with the channel down the middle. Best saddle I've used. I'm addicted to it. Tilted up slightly has worked best for me. Will be replacing my other saddles with this one.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Fizik Antares R1 vs 00

in Road

rheosibal

8

1342

Sat May 14, 2016 5:28 am

Rick View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Anyone using a Fizik stem?

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

burglarboycie

20

904

Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:50 pm

burglarboycie View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Fizik Aliante to SMP

in Road

Master-Ti

5

704

Wed Jan 20, 2016 6:37 pm

AJS914 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Redesigned Fizik Aliante - anyone else have one?

in Road

superdx

3

692

Wed Aug 05, 2015 2:18 am

Ebruner View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Fizik stem info...R3??

in Road

rst72

4

509

Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:22 pm

UncleJohn View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Flapmeat and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited