Overall Ultegra Di2 6770 topic

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
DeeHubbs
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:05 pm

by DeeHubbs

ooo wrote:fd-6870 auto-trim - does it work on v2.5.2 with 10sp rd?
@DeeHubbs
thanks. I try archived all possible versions, this one are missing.
I will try to mix 10sp road di2 rd with mtb di2 fd and fd-6870.

My 10sp FD fully trims with my 11spd RD. The trim points are matched to the RD perfectly.
I have not personally mixed the Road and MTB, but from what I understand is the v2.5.2 is the last version before they wrote the firmware to not allow mixing of different series. I bet that MTB and Road would play.
The tricky part is once you update the software you can't rewrite it backwards. I currently have a stash of parts that I purposely have not updated past v2.5.2 to be able to use them a s mix and matches.
But now that they have released the CS-R8000 11-34 cassette I can use all those old 10spd wheels again and not worry about having a 10sp RD. (I could even run a 53-39 big boy chainring here in the mountains :wink: )

by Weenie


motorapido
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:08 pm

by motorapido

As far as i know, and according to the Shimano compatibility charts,
Road and MTB mech's can't be mixed on the same bike, shifters is not a problem but the mech's don't work in a mixed system.

ooo
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:59 pm

by ooo

FD-6770 - does it have electronic adjustment like FD-6870 or it only uses 2 bolts for adjusments?
'

kulivontot
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm

by kulivontot

I believe it's just the two bolts, at least that's what i got out of the manual when i set it up

dtwolfen
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:05 pm

by dtwolfen

This may have been answered and I did not go far enough back in the forum, is it possible to downgrade a dn110 battery using firmware 4.0.5 to something I .can use with the ew67a? Have an ultegra 6870 with this grouppo and battery is dead so looking for ways to keep it internal. I don't need the amazing things the new stuff does, just my old sweet system. I saw I need the pce1 to do the downgrade but maybe help figuring out which files to expunge and swap and rename. Thanks

Sent from my LG-H700 using Tapatalk

ooo
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:59 pm

by ooo

e-Tube update
Sep 28, 2017 3.3.1
Bug fixing for ULTEGRA Di2 updated (6770 series)

(previous version 3.3.0 and 3.2.1 was dangerous for 6770)
Last edited by ooo on Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
'

goodboyr
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

Dangerous??????????

ooo
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:59 pm

by ooo

2017-05-18

We've heard from a number of you that 6770-equipped bikes behave oddly after updating it with version 3.2.1 of E-Tube Project app and the component firmware bundled with it.

We are advising dealers not to update the firmware on 6770-equipped bikes until this is resolved with a future version of e-tube Project.

6770 hasn't had new features added via firmware in many years - probably since multi-shift capability (the ability to hold down the button and have it move across the cassette 2, 3 , or more positions). So there's not much reason to update firmware for 6770.

If you have experienced an issue with a 6770-equipped bike after a firmware flash, please contact our Customer Support Team: 800 423 2420 in the US, or 877 377 5211 in Canada.

2017-08-23

The 6770 bug fix needed more development time, so we expect that to be fully addressed in v. 3.3.1. Until it's released, we continue to advise you not to update firmware on working 6770 Di2 bikes. If you have a borked 6770 bike? Call our Customer Service team. 800 423 2420 in the US, or 877 377 5211 in Canada.
'

goodboyr
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

ooo wrote:
2017-05-18

We've heard from a number of you that 6770-equipped bikes behave oddly after updating it with version 3.2.1 of E-Tube Project app and the component firmware bundled with it.

We are advising dealers not to update the firmware on 6770-equipped bikes until this is resolved with a future version of e-tube Project.

6770 hasn't had new features added via firmware in many years - probably since multi-shift capability (the ability to hold down the button and have it move across the cassette 2, 3 , or more positions). So there's not much reason to update firmware for 6770.

If you have experienced an issue with a 6770-equipped bike after a firmware flash, please contact our Customer Support Team: 800 423 2420 in the US, or 877 377 5211 in Canada.

2017-08-23

The 6770 bug fix needed more development time, so we expect that to be fully addressed in v. 3.3.1. Until it's released, we continue to advise you not to update firmware on working 6770 Di2 bikes. If you have a borked 6770 bike? Call our Customer Service team. 800 423 2420 in the US, or 877 377 5211 in Canada.
Lol. Given nobody except dealers got those messages, I guess there might be a few"borked" ones out there.

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk

ooo
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:59 pm

by ooo

e-Tube update 3.3.2

2017-12-26
Additional function for ANT
- D-FLY Channel switch setting for cycle computer
'

stinus77
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:25 pm

by stinus77

Hello, can I build a 1x11 setup with following combination?
6770 Shifter, 6870 RD, External Battery and EW67?
6770 shifter is upgraded for 11-speed. I connected the right shifter with a cable to (reverser) EW67, the two cables go to battery and RD, just for testing. Green light lifts up on the EW67 but RD will not move when shifting? I don't have a PCE1, but maybe not all firmware is the same?

Any suggestions?

ooo
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:59 pm

by ooo

hardware is compatible, probably all your 6770 have old firmware and 6870 have much newer firmware
'

stinus77
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:25 pm

by stinus77

ooo wrote:
Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:55 pm
hardware is compatible, probably all your 6770 have old firmware and 6870 have much newer firmware
Ok, so best thing is to go to the LBS to check the firmware of the components.

Multebear
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 10:11 pm

by Multebear

^^^someone told me, that if you don’t use FD, you need to specify that on the computer when plugged to the groupset. Don’t know if that could be the problem.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post