recommend a rear pulley please

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Bianchi10

by Bianchi10

shimano ultegra groupo, looking for a set of rear derailleur pulley's 11T.

Kcnc ultralight
token
AEST

Want to keep it under 10g/pulley. All these options above are 18g/set or below. wanting to keep it under $40.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

sugarkane
in the industry

by sugarkane

Extralite jockeys... Actually an upgrade too unlike the ones you've mentioned..

mellowJohnny

by mellowJohnny

Just put on a set of Token in my 6700 - fabulous. Shifting is still great, drivetrain is still quiet. I have no experience with the others you list, but I have nothing but praise for the tokens.

SpinnerTim

by SpinnerTim

+1 for Extralites. I've used them for thousands of miles with no complications. They are polymer wheels that will not lose their anodized finish (to ruinous aesthetic effect) like some of the others you mentioned, and the wear rates are mostly in line with OEM Shimano rates, so there is no boutique penalty to pay in that respect.

They have actual cartridge bearings, unlike some bushing-based WW wheel surrogates.

Like WW pulley wheels, the weight reduction is small in absolute terms, but the % improvement relative to the Ultegras will be huge. I think the total weight of the Extralites I installed was 9g compared to 21g for the D-A 7800 wheels that came with the group.

However, the Extralites do not have any lateral play in the upper wheel, unlike the Shimano unit. This play allows for more slop in your derailleur tuning, cable stretch, and permits you to run a wider-range cassette without undue tuning complications. The Extralites will be a bit noisier in all cases, but wide-range cassettes will result in significantly more chatter than your stock setup.