Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:47 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 10:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 177
hi, I have a cannondale super six evo and I want to change my cables, but not sure about the rear brake, it is easy?? what is the best way??

thanks

_________________
Ninja


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 12:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:29 am
Posts: 234
Tie a piece of string on the end of the old cable as you remove it, and then use that string to fish the new cable through.

While fishing the new cable through , push from the cable side and only remove slack from the string side, this will prevent it from coming detached.


Top
   
Posted: Wed May 22, 2013 12:46 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 6:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:37 am
Posts: 30
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I just pull the old cable out, leaving the housing, put the new cable in the old housing, pull the old housing off the new cable, then slip the new housing on the new cable.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 10:41 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1980
Location: NoVA/DC
The rear housing stop comes off, allowing a pretty clear view inside the top tube when fishing the new cable through. Alternatively, if you get a piece of cable liner (like a straw) that is longer than the top tube, you can:
Remove the rear most brake housing,
Slide the straw onto the remaining cable,
Continue to push the straw over the cable so the straw goes through the top tube and exits out the front.
At this point, the straw will span the entire length of the top tube. Tape the ends down, then pull he cable out of the straw. Reverse the procedure to reinstall.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 177
justanewbie wrote:
I just pull the old cable out, leaving the housing, put the new cable in the old housing, pull the old housing off the new cable, then slip the new housing on the new cable.


there is no housing inside the top tube in the evo frame..

_________________
Ninja


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 10:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 177
thisisatest wrote:
A
Continue to push the straw over the cable so the straw goes through the top tube and exits out the front.
At this point, the straw will span the entire length of the top tube. Tape the ends down, then pull he cable out of the straw. Reverse the procedure to reinstall.


on the front impossible.. from the inside the hole is just big enough for the cable, nothing else ..

anyway thanks, I removed my fork, I took a shifter s housing, put that inside the tiop tube from the back thats it..

_________________
Ninja


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 1:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 11:19 pm
Posts: 195
I'll second the cable liners. I used to change cables regularly on my Guru Geneo and did it slick as greased pig shit with the use of cable liners.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 3:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:11 am
Posts: 3
Along this thread - I'm switching a 2013 Roubaix SL4 from Ultegra to SRAM Red and it too has all internal cable routing now. Can you just use the existing housing and poke in new wires for the SRAM or can you reuse the existing Ultegra cables/housing with the SRAM stuff? Or do/should you replace all of it with new stuff (Gore recommended?). Seller I bought the SRAM Red from included (new) internal wires for brakes and derailers, no housings.

Sorry for a newbie question, I've never swapped internal cables before and it seems daunting.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 1:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:16 pm
Posts: 365
Location: Austin, Texas
When all else fails; string and a vacuum cleaner.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 5:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 5:34 am
Posts: 40
As long as the cables aren't rusted out or in need of replacement you should be fine reusing the housing.


Top
   
Posted: Tue May 28, 2013 5:35 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 3:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 2:52 am
Posts: 1010
simple on the other end place a strong magnet. the steel cable will cling to it. works every time

_________________
Current Rides:

2017 Giant TCR Advanced SL 0 DI2 9150


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Stems with internal cable routing

in Road

murphyk

5

1011

Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:14 pm

kode54 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Compressionless brake housing for internal routing

in Road

bikewithnoname

6

878

Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:43 am

bikewithnoname View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Cable routing tips for a Di2 newbie

in Road

simurs4

3

683

Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:50 am

jlok View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Top tube internal cable adapters for huge holes

in Road

LouisN

3

195

Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:43 pm

Rudi View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Link cable housing and internal full length runs?

in Road

SpecializedColnago

8

983

Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:53 pm

reknop View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Broady, KCookie, Swannie, topflightpro and 50 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited