HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Ultegra Di2 New Firmware
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 634
Location: Canada
I got the Ultegra Di2 system checker and after install, there was new firmware available for the shifters, battery mount and front derailleur. I upgraded them, but without a changelog, not sure whats changed. Sure would be nice if there was a changelog for the firmware.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Ultegra Di2 New Firmware
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:14 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 199
Where did you get the new firmware from?

_________________
Scott Foil Di2 2012
Scott Scale 35 2010


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 634
Location: Canada
The checker works by connecting to the usb port of your pc. It requires you to install the shimano "e-tube" software to work. That software automatically looks for updated firmware for each device and then downloads and installs it. The software shows what version of firmware is in each of the components.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 4:43 pm
Posts: 5093
Location: Wherever there's a mountain beckoning to be climbed
So is your problem that you know what version of the firmware you have in each component now (after any updates were installed) but you don't know which versions you had before updating?

If you had been aware before updating of what you are now, could you have used/set the software in such a manner as to report the versions of firmware without updating?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 634
Location: Canada
No. My problem is that there's no descriptive log of what has changed. When you update firmware in a Garmin for example, they tell you all the things that have been fixed/ changed in the new firmware version. In. The case of Di2, there's no file or text that describes what's changed.. I assume the updated firmware addresses some issues in the original firmware. What are those issues?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 2:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 4:43 pm
Posts: 5093
Location: Wherever there's a mountain beckoning to be climbed
You don't have a need to know. I am Shimano and I have spoken.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 2:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 634
Location: Canada
:mrgreen:
I guess since this is weight weenies, and since firmware doesn't change the weights, who cares, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:19 am
Posts: 60
goodboyr wrote:
:mrgreen:
I guess since this is weight weenies, and since firmware doesn't change the weights, who cares, right?


But he who gets the most performance for the same weight, wins! :smartass:

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 199
goodboyr wrote:
The checker works by connecting to the usb port of your pc. It requires you to install the shimano "e-tube" software to work. That software automatically looks for updated firmware for each device and then downloads and installs it. The software shows what version of firmware is in each of the components.


Ok, thanks for the info.
Do you happen to know it the SM-PCE1 works/will work for the new Di2 9000 too?

EDIT: found the information myself already:
http://fairwheelbikes.com/cycling-blog/ ... a-ace.html
The last part of the article makes me want to buy a SM-PCE1 :)

_________________
Scott Foil Di2 2012
Scott Scale 35 2010


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:44 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Florida
The SM-PCE1 PC Conector for Ultegra Di2 will also be used with all future E-Tube Di2 systems including the new Dura Ace 9070 Di2. It will also allow you to make some pretty cool midifications to the 9070 shifting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 4:43 pm
Posts: 5093
Location: Wherever there's a mountain beckoning to be climbed
Could you please describe these cool modifications it will allow you to make to 9070 shifting? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 4:30 am
Posts: 14
It allows you to set the number of gears shifted on a long lever push. It's also theorized to allow 6770 to upgrade to 11-speed. If they'd confirm that, I'd get it at the start of next season, but it's purely conjecture at this point.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 4:43 pm
Posts: 5093
Location: Wherever there's a mountain beckoning to be climbed
Toby wrote:
It allows you to set the number of gears shifted on a long lever push.
Well, I've heard that, but is that it, or is there other stuff that can "openly" be done using published information (as opposed to unauthorized/unsupported hacking)? Can you at least specify how long (and to what time resolution?) is long?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 4:30 am
Posts: 14
No, I have no idea how long the "long" press is - I haven't played with Di2 at all yet, and I've never read the definition of "long" in a review. There's also been talk that it's possible to repurpose each lever if you want to change which one shifts which derailleur which way, and I believe that's confirmed. Those are the only settings I'm aware of.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 634
Location: Canada
The present software on the ultegra di2 and system checker does not have the option to go to 11 speeds. Only customization is what each button does. And its a full customization, so you could make each button do whatever single shift you want.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:05 pm 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], jjmstang, padmasana and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Di2 firmware problem

in Road

rokkstar

12

682

Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:03 am

tnc1970 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Di2 mix-and-match--firmware v3.0.5 warning

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

climber8

21

1693

Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:01 am

cajer View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Can the Edge 500 display what firmware my Powertap is using?

in Road

jspaceman

0

186

Sun May 25, 2014 3:13 am

jspaceman View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Edge 510 and Stages PM (both on latest firmware)

in Road

dha

3

386

Mon Jul 28, 2014 6:28 pm

FIJIGabe View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Ultegra Di2 6770

in Road

andyw396

1

494

Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:16 pm

deltree View the latest post


It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 12:26 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB