Dura Ace 9000 Crankset compatible with full 7900??

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Locked
Kippo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:34 am

by Kippo

Hi, I have a Full Dura Ace 7900 setup on my bike at the moment. But am a big fan of the 9000 Crankset. I was wondering if I could purchase a 9000 Crankset (50-34) and would it be compatible with my existing 10speed 7900 setup? I have a SMBB-7900 bottom bracket (BC1.37 x 24), which I think would be ok for the 9000, I've read that the 9000 chain is different as well?? Hope you experts can help!!

Has been covered. As a noob, can I recommend please that you use the 'search' function

sigismond0
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:29 pm

by sigismond0

No reason is shouldn't be compatible--10sp vs 11sp cranksets tend to be perfectly interchangeable as long as they share a BB, and both are Hollowtech II.

The difference in the chains is that the 9K chain is narrower on the outside, but is identical on the inside. Either chain should work fine for you since you're on a 10sp cassette.

by Weenie


BdaGhisallo
Posts: 1837
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm

by BdaGhisallo

The ProTour peloton is filled with Shimano sponsored teams that have been using their 7900 SRM powermeter cranks with otherwise 9000/9070 setups. If there were any issues with it, they wouldn't be doing it.

User avatar
Maximilian
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:09 pm
Location: London
Contact:

by Maximilian

Yes. My colleague and shop owner has just put a 9000 crank on his 7970 Di2 bike. Works great, didn't even change BB.
--Max.

Kippo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:34 am

by Kippo

Sweet!!
Might have to start lobbying the Minister of Finance to get the funds to help with my addiction.... err fitness regime!!

thanks
Paul

Locked
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post