HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:19 pm
Posts: 350
Just got a new Powertap G3 hub, and I wanted to check that the firmware was up to date. Downloaded the PowerAgent software and removed the power cap from the hub.

First source of confusion was the discrepancies between the G3 manual and advice provided online and in the PowerAgent software itself. The manual doesn't mention anything about removing the battery before connecting the powercap to the PC, and the FAQs on the website imply that the battery should still be in place (it mentions not leaving it connected for too long in case you drain the battery). However, other 3rd party advice I found online suggests that it is necessary to remove the battery, most of the time the powercap isn't recognised by the computer unless you do this, and after updating the firmware the PowerAgent software warns you to disconnect the power cap from the computer before re-inserting the battery! So I found out the hard way that removing the battery first is necessary and am hoping nothing has been damaged as a result of not doing this the first time...

Secondly, I can't figure out if the firmware update has been implemented correctly. When I first connected the powercap, PowerAgent told me I had v. 16.000 installed and allowed me to update to v. 16.021. Afterwards, when I check the status it tells me that I have the latest version (16.021) installed. However, every time I disconnect the powercap from the computer and reconnect it, PowerAgent tells me I still have the older firmware and updates it again... How do I really know what firmware I have installed?


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:34 pm 
  • PowerTap G3
  • 799.00 €   from 719.90 € (including 19% VAT)
  • in stock


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 12:04 am
Posts: 96
Did you ever sort this?

Ive done the update several times, but it each time I unplug and plug it back it says that it still needs the update.

Its like its doing the update but its not getting saved.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:19 pm
Posts: 350
Yup, I think that's just a peculiarity of the software. It often/usually asks you to update even if you already have the latest version. The definitive guide to updating seems to be here:

http://www.powertap.com/pages/powertap-hub-wheel-faq

The best way to check what version of the software you have in the G3 seems to be with a 3rd party device such as a Garmin. On the Garmin 800 if you go to ANT+Power => Sensor Details => About Sensor it will list "SW Version" at the bottom. The decimal point is in the wrong place and it only includes the last two digits, but it tells you what version you have. Mine currently says "5.800", which presumably equals Powertap software version 15.058.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 6:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:38 am
Posts: 37
I seem to have the opposite problem. I want to update my firmware but it says that I already have the latest firmware. I can't have the latest firmware because it was released march 2014 and I bought the hub in Jan 2014. I have emailed Powertap but I'm yet to get a solution from them. Anyone else ran into this problem?

FWIW: Tried both on a mac and a PC. Same result.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:23 am
Posts: 789
Location: Pack filler
Have you got the latest version of poweragent?
If not do that first.

Then once you've got it open, wake the hub up by spinning it, and then remove the powercap BEFORE it goes to sleep again. Remove battery.
Connect to PC and update firmware.
Disconnect and reinsert battery and powercap


never had any hassle (at least with this part of powertap :wink: )

_________________
Official cafe stop tester


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:38 am
Posts: 37
Yup, got the latest version of poweragent. How long before it goes to sleep? I did it pretty much immediately (< 1min) after I woke the device. Tried again. No luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 7:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:49 am
Posts: 42
Location: Helsinki, Finland
I had to repeat the firmware update process several [1] times before the firmware was there. This process was:

1) remove battery
2) plug the PowerCap into PC w/ newest software
3) upload new FW with PowerAgent
4) disconnect PowerCap and wait for 15 - 20 seconds

And even then the PowerAgent was unable to show the new FW version number. I confirmed the FW from my Garmin Edge 500 which shows it in the "Sensor Details" view. Sold the PowerTap wheel and now using Power2Max and Rotor Power.

[1] More like ten times.

EDIT: fixed typo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:38 am
Posts: 37
I could finally do it with help from Powertap customer service. I had to downgrade to an older Java version to get it to work. Yet to ride with the new firmware but hoping it all works out well!


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:14 am 
  • PowerTap G3
  • 799.00 €   from 719.90 € (including 19% VAT)
  • in stock


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 43 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Can the Edge 500 display what firmware my Powertap is using?

in Road

jspaceman

0

264

Sun May 25, 2014 3:13 am

jspaceman View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Di2 firmware problem

in Road

rokkstar

12

889

Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:03 am

tnc1970 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Di2 mix-and-match--firmware v3.0.5 warning

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

climber8

26

2677

Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:53 pm

glepore View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Edge 510 and Stages PM (both on latest firmware)

in Road

dha

3

476

Mon Jul 28, 2014 6:28 pm

FIJIGabe View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Firmware upgrade Shimano D-Fly Di2 sensor SM-EWW01 (solved)

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

jsprbcn

22

1004

Tue Mar 03, 2015 3:56 pm

jsprbcn View the latest post


It is currently Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:22 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB