Need Help Installing BTP Shifter Clamps

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
jvanv8
Posts: 946
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 2:37 pm
Location: Northeast USA

by jvanv8

I am trying to install some BTP shifter clamps on my 3T Ergonova and I have 2 concerns:

1.
I didn't realize when purchasing, but the BTP clamps do not actually clamp... they are just carbon rings. How do they hold onto the bars?
Seems that if I'm able to weasel them into position, they will be able to move just as easily once I ride with them.

2.
I can get them on the bar up until the bend where the glossy finish on the bars becomes a coarse matte finish (to give the hoods better grip).
I tried soaking in hot water for a few seconds but it didn't help. (Note: I am only installing the clamps on the bars, without mounting the levers to the clamps)
Should I try to file/dremel the carbon to increase the diameter?
Of course, I don't want to compromise their ability to hold... assuming they can.
AX Vial Evo: 4970g
Addict SL : 5235g
My Cycling Blog
Strava: Wayward Cyclist

by Weenie


mike
Resident Pro
Posts: 2441
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:42 pm

by mike

Use carbon paste on the bars and tighten 3-4 nm using torque wrench

User avatar
theremery
Posts: 2673
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:56 am
Location: New Zealand

by theremery

Remove the smallest amount of material form the edges (inside) of the back only (i.e. dirctly opposite the bolt but on the edge of the carbon band (2 bits, one "upper one lower"). They will grip just fine when tightened. USE A TORQUE WRENCH and build paste.
Updated: Racing again! Thought this was unlikely! Eventually, I may even have a decent race!
Edit: 2015: darn near won the best South Island series (got second in age
-group)..woo hoo Racy Theremery is back!!

Johnny Rad
Posts: 1826
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:22 am
Location: Zion

by Johnny Rad

I can vouch for the recommendation from theremery, which matches what I got from Bernhard at BTP. It doesn't take much material to be removed to get the clamps to slide into place. Go slow.

I'm also totally confused as to how shifter clamps work! Instead of figuring it out when I got my BTP units, I just trust that they work (plus the fact that DA7800/7900 clamp pics online clearly show that they don't squeeze the bar when sliding them into place either). I was giving myself quite the headache. Ha ha.

bikejunkie
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 8:43 pm
Location: UK

by bikejunkie

Hi.

the clamp is basicly a holder for the thread, when you do the hex nut up inside the lever it pulls the lever body towards the bar clamping it, the more you tighten it the more it will grip the bar.

mathi
Posts: 1276
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:03 pm
Location: uk

by mathi

Mine have been bombproof, always heated up in hotwater before installation 8)

fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

1.
I didn't realize when purchasing, but the BTP clamps do not actually clamp... they are just carbon rings. How do they hold onto the bars?
Seems that if I'm able to weasel them into position, they will be able to move just as easily once I ride with them.


They actually do clamp.
See bikejunkie's message.

Ciao, ;)
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

danbjpa
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Brasil

by danbjpa

Hi!
sorry to dig up the topic ...

I acquired BTP clamps but they just do not fix on the handlebars (new Ritchey Superlogic Logic II). I tightened the nut until the end and the Ergopower yet stayed with clearance. What i do? :noidea:

(my english is bad but from what I understand the problem of friend is the opposite of mine)

Thanks!

mdeth1313
Moderator
Posts: 2083
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:38 am
Location: Dutchess County, NY

by mdeth1313

I had the same ritchey bars for 2 years and they clamped no problem. Did you use carbon paste? Only difference is I was using sram shifters although I don't see how that could be much of a difference.
Speedplay is the devil!

danbjpa
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Brasil

by danbjpa

hmm... i have not used paste. i only put clamps in the bar (which entered easily even in curves) and i tighten the ergos. I didn't imagine which the paste would a big 'graft' (seemed too loose to the paste resolve) thought there would not stay 'firm and strong' on the bars and any lateral little blow would move (thought graft with bartape piece - but i didn't feel safe and this add few grams. lol)
I confess that didn't have thought about it, and i had no paste at moment :oops: . I used the original campy clamps but when I change the tape, i'll try puts them (BTP clamps) with paste. hope works good.

Thanks for the support!

fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

If the original Campa clamps work fine on this bar then so should the BTP ones.

Ciao, ;)
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post