Cannondale Slice Di2 Project

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
turas
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 4:08 pm

by turas

Hi All,

I'm new on here but have been visiting for a bit. I'm about to start a project drilling out a Cannondale slice to integrate Dura Ace Di2. Has anybody got any experiance of this?

M

LeePaton
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 6:34 pm

by LeePaton

No, I'm very interested though.

by Weenie


turas
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 4:08 pm

by turas

I'll keep you posted here

kbzoo
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 3:47 pm

by kbzoo

I ran the Di2 cables internally in the down tube but externally from the BB to the FD and RD on my Slice. The battery was internalised as well. I didn't want to drill out the frame so I cut and spliced the cables and ran them through the regular cable holes in the frame. I wanted to have the battery in the seat tube but couldn't locate the drain hole between the seat tube and BB shell so I ended up placing the battery in the aerobar extensions. Not the cleanest solution but it works.

turas
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 4:08 pm

by turas

@kbzoo..Thanks for the steer re splicing cables

I spliced the cables today and ran the cable down the down tube internally. I also filed out the aerobars (Easton attack carbon) and got them all routed internally.

Tomorrow I'm going to work on the BB and back end. The RD wire will have to stay external but I'm going to cut and splice the FD wire through the old hole the cable guide used to run and I think I'm just going to mount the battery at the bottle cage or else I might have a crack at going to the seatpost....was having the same drain hole location issues on a quick look this evening.

Will keep you posted

Hendrix
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:53 am

by Hendrix

I know this is a Zombie post, but to avoid rehashing the same question, has anyone completed a Di2 installation on a Slice frame?

Any luck with getting the battery to live inside the seat tube?

And does adding an adaptor to the BB30 to make it Shimano-compatible reduce the stiffness of the frame?
I'm guessing that frame stiffness is more of an issue for high torque riders right? If we spin for power instead of mashing, this would be less of an issue?

Apologies if these have been answered somewhere already, if so, can you be a good sport and point me to the right thread? I've done searches, but haven't found the exact answers I'm looking for yet...

Hendrix
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:53 am

by Hendrix

Hendrix wrote:I know this is a Zombie post, but to avoid rehashing the same question, has anyone completed a Di2 installation on a Slice frame?

Any luck with getting the battery to live inside the seat tube?

And does adding an adaptor to the BB30 to make it Shimano-compatible reduce the stiffness of the frame?
I'm guessing that frame stiffness is more of an issue for high torque riders right? If we spin for power instead of mashing, this would be less of an issue?

Apologies if these have been answered somewhere already, if so, can you be a good sport and point me to the right thread? I've done searches, but haven't found the exact answers I'm looking for yet...



LBS Mechanic is fitting Di2 to my Slice 5 today, he has had the same issues finding a drain hole that leads from the down tube, tried calling Cannondale but they haven't been very helpful. It looks like there isn't one; that means unless you drill the frame (and void warranty) it'll have to be an external battery. We're going to use the seat tube battery, but use shrink wrap to weatherproof it, then attach it externally using a bike pump mount and some small rubber shims. Its not the most aero option, but far from the ugliest, and clean too.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post