Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:10 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 1:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 839
Anyone bought the Cateye switchers in the UK?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 839
Also aren't the Cateye shifters a nightmare to fit. I guess the Shimano climbing shifter is easy. Is that the case?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2012 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:08 am
Posts: 314
WeightySteve wrote:
I'm also considering mounting a 2nd climbing shifter for the front mech on the left side. Mainly to satisfy my ocd over symmetry, but it might make a substantial difference to my reluctance to swap rings when on the when on the tops and help me find a better cadence when normally I would grind it out or spend a minute or two out of the saddle.

Anyone else tried this?


Pretty sure the firmware won't let the satellite shifter shift the front derailleur, though I haven't tried it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 839
Does anyone know:

For the Shimano remote climbing shifter do you need a special Di2 harness? Where does it plug in?

Any help on this would be much appreciated.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 11:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 359
Location: Australia
it plugs directly into the shifter.

_________________
2012 Scott Foil Premium


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:44 am
Posts: 291
BikeNerd2453 wrote:

Pretty sure the firmware won't let the satellite shifter shift the front derailleur, though I haven't tried it.


It will work, the Fitting instructions even suggests it as an option, but it does state due to the angle of the buttons it wont be as ergonomic as it should be, ideally they'd made a LH specific shape.

RE. The size, they do look pretty chunky, but once your riding they blend into the bars quite well and I would say the size is just about right for operation. I 100% need them under the srm bracket though, had a couple of accidental shifts when switching modes on the headunit and 1 shift with my knee while out the saddle. (if that technique could be controlled they could be used as great sprint shifters too :))

_________________
...


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:25 am
Posts: 1
Hi, thought I would share how my LBS made a custom mount for the Di2 Sw-r600 climbing switch which was clamped under the Garmin mount on my handlebar eliminating the need to use cable ties.



Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:58 am
Posts: 318
I used super glue.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AZR3, CanadianBiker, crn, Delorre, Exabot [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], jeffy, kwm24 and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited