Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sat Oct 01, 2016 4:32 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:19 pm
Posts: 395
Anyone on these? Care to share if they are good?
They are much cheaper than Edge 500 and offers the same functions.

Their HRM strap's sensor does look abit more bulge than the Garmin strap .


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 9:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 1594
Location: Near Horgen, Switzerland
According to the cycling weekly review they are OK. Reading between the lines they are not OK - basically too many of the software functions appear to be 'under development' or not fully integrated. Their conclusion was to get the Garmin.

Although you will find lots of threads on the Edge 500 locking, losing data etc... with the latest firmware (dead easy to change) and reasonable care to give time to transfer data then undock it properly before pulling out the cable it works faultlessly. I use bikerouttoaster to set up breadcrumb trails and that's also useful, especially when riding somewhere new.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
Posted: Sun May 22, 2011 9:53 pm 


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 3:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:10 am
Posts: 20
I have a Bryton 30, effectively the same as the 35. The hardware is great. Good screen, buttons and battery life. GPS sensitivity seems good as well. But the software is a work in progress. It is certainly getting better with each update. I almost returned mine and am glad I did not. I use it with a Garmin speed/cadence sensor and a Garmin HR belt. I would not rely on any GPS for speed and distance in my heavily treed and valleyed area. It works seamlessly with all Ant+ devices. For the money it is a great device if you have the patience to wait as they update the software. I would say it is about 80% already. But if you are not an "early adopter" I would punt for now.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 6:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:19 pm
Posts: 395
random wrote:
I have a Bryton 30, effectively the same as the 35. The hardware is great. Good screen, buttons and battery life. GPS sensitivity seems good as well. But the software is a work in progress. It is certainly getting better with each update. I almost returned mine and am glad I did not. I use it with a Garmin speed/cadence sensor and a Garmin HR belt. I would not rely on any GPS for speed and distance in my heavily treed and valleyed area. It works seamlessly with all Ant+ devices. For the money it is a great device if you have the patience to wait as they update the software. I would say it is about 80% already. But if you are not an "early adopter" I would punt for now.


I am planning on getting the Bryton 35 with Garmin HR belt and Garmin speed/cadence sensor as well. Same choice.
Hope i wouldnt regret it for saving $60 over the Garmin 500.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 6:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:10 am
Posts: 20
I was actually able to find the Rider 30 for $135, the HR belt for $25 and the Speed/cadence sensor for $32. All online in the US. It looks like the units are difficult to find in the States now that Garmin has sued Bryton.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:19 pm
Posts: 395
Can this work with the Bryton?

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/garmin-premium- ... oft-strap/

It seems like it is for the forerunner instead for the edge series


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 7:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:19 pm
Posts: 395
Alright they do work. Hopefully the Garmin's HRM and Speed/Cadence will work well with the Bryton.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2011 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 3:00 pm
Posts: 48
random wrote:
I was actually able to find the Rider 30 for $135, the HR belt for $25 and the Speed/cadence sensor for $32. All online in the US. It looks like the units are difficult to find in the States now that Garmin has sued Bryton.


Where did you find it for that price? Kind of done with the Garmin 500 since the 2nd HR strap broke and the mount failure...

_________________
http://www.cyclingtorrents.nl - Torrent Tracker dedicated to broadcasts of racing


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 171
Location: Moncalieri (Turin), Italia.
Anyone know if the garmin "non soft strap" hr belt works with the rider 35?
Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:10 am
Posts: 20
If it is Ant+, and I believe it is, it will work. Their latest update and website has solved 90% of my issues btw.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 171
Location: Moncalieri (Turin), Italia.
random wrote:
If it is Ant+, and I believe it is, it will work. Their latest update and website has solved 90% of my issues btw.

Thank you, I was wondering if someone ever tried to pair a Bryton 35 with a 2.4 speed/cadence sensor. (AFAIK the sensor's not ant+, it's 2.4 coded)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:10 am
Posts: 20
As I indicated above, I successfully paired a Bryton 30/35 with a Garmin cadence/speed sensor as well as the earlier HR belt. But both are Ant+. I can't imagine it will pair with the earlier coded sensors, but maybe.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:19 pm
Posts: 395
darn in a dilema, did some calculation:
the garmin 500 HRM and CAD is only $20 more expensive than the Bryton 35 with Garmin Premium HR band and Garmin Speed/cadence sensor.

But problem is garmin is blue in color doesnt match my bike (the black and neutral cost way more)
Then again i prefer garmin data transfer and more established data management.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 171
Location: Moncalieri (Turin), Italia.
Random (or whoever knows), do you know if bryton is working on WKO+ compatibility?
Because from what I've read at the moment, the only compatible software is bryton's own...
and where do I get the firmware? I couldn't find it on Bryton's website.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:09 pm
Posts: 918
I had placed an order for one of these from O2shop in the US. With a discount coupon it came to $200 delivered for the bundle. But, a week later, I get an order cancellation notice from them that they can't get them in stock. I would assume due to a possible cease/desist by Garmin...and so much for that.

I just bought an Edge 500 bundle and called it a day.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Bryton Rider 35
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:19 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Bryton Rider 310. User experiences

in Road

Frankie - B

2

1080

Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:59 am

Frankie - B View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. NeilPryde Nazare for larger rider?

in Road

kevhogaz

1

331

Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:30 am

stormur View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Movistar rider injured by disc brake in Paris-Roubaix

[ Go to page: 130 31 32 33 34 ]

in Road

krtassoc

504

26135

Mon Sep 12, 2016 11:00 pm

jeffy View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: donald, Google Adsense [Bot], HammerTime2, Yahoo [Bot] and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited