HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:48 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 371
I have a Fulcrum racing 1 wheelset. It is about 6 years old. It is still in good chape and i had no problems until now.
I always used Ultegra cassettes on this wheelset, but today I wanted to mount a Sram PG 1070 cassette and I does not fit. I was very surprised.
The sram cassette won't glide on the body because the grooving/splines on the body is too high. It seems that the body is only compatible for 10 speed cassettes.
The new bodies that Fulcrum uses today are compatible with 8/9/10 speed cassettes.

1: I want to use Sram (Apex) cassettes on my racing 1, so can I swap the body(freehub) for a new Fulcrum racing 1 freehub? Will it fit?

2: Is it possible to change the fulcrum body for a Campa body compatible for shimano?

I hope that it is clear what the problem is and that you can help me out.

thanks

_________________
My Specialized Tarmac S-works SL4
http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/ac11 ... 11af34.jpg
Pinarello Dogma 65.1 Think 2


Last edited by poppiholla on Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:48 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:37 pm
Posts: 87
Take the freehub body off and look at the axle. Are there 3 flat spots on it anywhere?

You can put a current 8/9/10 freehub body on it, I just can't remember if it's the "Chorus/R3" one or the Record/R1 version. If there are 3 flats, it's the latter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:21 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 371
When I look at the body when dismounted I see three three ratchets with flat spots.
So I think I need this body to mount Sram Cassettes. Please confirm.

campa WH-KX870 (for shimano)

http://www.bikeparts4u.nl/campagnolo-sh ... y-wh-kx890

Is the inside diameter of the body always equal?

_________________
My Specialized Tarmac S-works SL4
http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/ac11 ... 11af34.jpg
Pinarello Dogma 65.1 Think 2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:37 pm
Posts: 87
that'll work


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:59 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 371
I don't think it will work. I discovered that the WH-KX890 campa body (for shimano) and the fulcrum R5-013 are not compatible with a round axl. Look at the pictures of my body and the WH-KX890 and R5-013 body. WH-KX890 = R5-013.

So who can help me out here. Which body do I need on my 6 years old Fulcrum racing 1 wheels, so that I can use Sram cassettes.

Body of my fulcrum racing 1 wheels. Only compatible with shimano
Image

The axl of my fulcrum racing 1 wheel.
Image

Body fulcrum racing 1 campa WH-KX890. Different axl so that will not work
Image

Is it possible that I need the body for the fulcrum racing 5 or racing 7? :noidea:
Can somebody tell me which body (product number) this is?
Image

I am going nuts for a few days now and I hope that someone can help me out here. :cry:

_________________
My Specialized Tarmac S-works SL4
http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/ac11 ... 11af34.jpg
Pinarello Dogma 65.1 Think 2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:08 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1955
Location: NoVA/DC
it appears your axle does not have the three "lobes" where it goes under the freehub. according to campy, it makes your wheel a 2005, which would explain the discrepancy. it's also possible fulcrum adopted the trilobal axle a year later.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:16 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 371
Sorry what is a lobe?

_________________
My Specialized Tarmac S-works SL4
http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/ac11 ... 11af34.jpg
Pinarello Dogma 65.1 Think 2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1132
Location: UK
thisisatest means the flats.

I think you'd have to swap the axle as well as the freehub due to the design changes when HG10 was introduced.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:13 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 371
I think that the Campa wh-kx9 and the Fulcrum r5-020 hg 8/9/10 / is compatible because it is made for a round axle.

Image

What do you think?

_________________
My Specialized Tarmac S-works SL4
http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/ac11 ... 11af34.jpg
Pinarello Dogma 65.1 Think 2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1132
Location: UK
Looks like it should work. Sorry, can't say for certain though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:03 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 371
Is the diameter of the axle indeed 12mm? I am not that experienced with this kind of tool.

Image

Image

Image

if yes the campa WH-KX9 or fulcrum R5-20 body will work on my 2006 Fulcrum racing 1.

please confirm!

_________________
My Specialized Tarmac S-works SL4
http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/ac11 ... 11af34.jpg
Pinarello Dogma 65.1 Think 2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:23 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1955
Location: NoVA/DC
looks like 12mm to me


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 6:48 am
Posts: 1148
Location: Central USA
Looks like the same as an early, early 2000ish Record axle (the older silver bodies hubs) so no lobes (as someone called them earlier). That axle and my 2001 record look identical - and by the way that one in the picture and mine both measure 17 mm (not 12.....)

I don't know the Fulcrum line that well but from the looks of that spindle I'd suggest looking for a shimano compatible for Campy in an early version. (definitly pre-2005 for sure)

You know what's a shame to realize here - look at the area in all pictures where the pawls sit - it's steel or Ti - no soft aluminum. I've looked at the Zipp website as an example and been shocked to see that the area of their freehubs where the hard steel pawl rotates in and out of are only made of aluminum. And how many others market their hubs for their light weight first........so unbeknownst to the buyer many are offering something with poor long term reliability. The Campy hubs I mentioned - the 2001's - they have tens of thousands of miles - and are still nice precise tools........


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:34 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1955
Location: NoVA/DC
oops :oops:
it's reading 17mm. im an idiot. missed the vernier scale on the arm there.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:34 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:34 am 
Offline
Tubbie Guru

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Posts: 5783
Location: Belgium
Hi,

Quote:
That axle and my 2001 record look identical - and by the way that one in the picture and mine both measure 17 mm (not 12.....)


Yours is probably the aluminium one dating from around 04-05 came with a body sporting an entirely round fit.
Those axles were 17mm wide and the newer ones still are but are chamfered at the hub side so you need to give the body a bit of a twist.
You find those in early Boras, Hyperon, Eurus and Neutrons.

The lower end Campa axles are (as I recall) made of steel and only 15mm wide, still entirely round and need their particular body to go with it.

I don't recall ever coming across a Campa wheel using a 12mm axle passed 2000 but Fulcrum may be a different story. So if that axle measures 12mm I doubt you'd still find a compatible part in the Campa catalogue.

http://bdc-forum.it/vbarticles.php?do=article&articleid=64

Ciao, ;)

_________________
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 48 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. New Fulcrum Racing Zero - Freehub material

in Road

excremanwu

4

347

Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:08 pm

Stolichnaya View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Fulcrum Racing 5 freehub play

in Road

mogwaiboi

4

368

Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:37 pm

martinko View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Fulcrum Racing Zero Spokes

in Road

rg255

3

570

Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:00 pm

neeb View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Mavic Ksyrium Elite vs Shimano DA C24 or Fulcrum Racing Zero

in Road

ladefoged86

5

1250

Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:44 am

Nejmann View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo Shamal Ultra Mega G3 vs Fulcrum Racing Zero

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

rg255

16

2194

Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:01 pm

sawyer View the latest post


It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:49 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB