Problem: Swapping Freehub Fulcrum racing 1 p

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
poppiholla
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm

by poppiholla

I have a Fulcrum racing 1 wheelset. It is about 6 years old. It is still in good chape and i had no problems until now.
I always used Ultegra cassettes on this wheelset, but today I wanted to mount a Sram PG 1070 cassette and I does not fit. I was very surprised.
The sram cassette won't glide on the body because the grooving/splines on the body is too high. It seems that the body is only compatible for 10 speed cassettes.
The new bodies that Fulcrum uses today are compatible with 8/9/10 speed cassettes.

1: I want to use Sram (Apex) cassettes on my racing 1, so can I swap the body(freehub) for a new Fulcrum racing 1 freehub? Will it fit?

2: Is it possible to change the fulcrum body for a Campa body compatible for shimano?

I hope that it is clear what the problem is and that you can help me out.

thanks
Last edited by poppiholla on Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

by Weenie


Dustin
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:37 pm

by Dustin

Take the freehub body off and look at the axle. Are there 3 flat spots on it anywhere?

You can put a current 8/9/10 freehub body on it, I just can't remember if it's the "Chorus/R3" one or the Record/R1 version. If there are 3 flats, it's the latter.

poppiholla
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm

by poppiholla

When I look at the body when dismounted I see three three ratchets with flat spots.
So I think I need this body to mount Sram Cassettes. Please confirm.

campa WH-KX870 (for shimano)

http://www.bikeparts4u.nl/campagnolo-sh ... y-wh-kx890

Is the inside diameter of the body always equal?

Dustin
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:37 pm

by Dustin

that'll work

poppiholla
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm

by poppiholla

I don't think it will work. I discovered that the WH-KX890 campa body (for shimano) and the fulcrum R5-013 are not compatible with a round axl. Look at the pictures of my body and the WH-KX890 and R5-013 body. WH-KX890 = R5-013.

So who can help me out here. Which body do I need on my 6 years old Fulcrum racing 1 wheels, so that I can use Sram cassettes.

Body of my fulcrum racing 1 wheels. Only compatible with shimano
Image

The axl of my fulcrum racing 1 wheel.
Image

Body fulcrum racing 1 campa WH-KX890. Different axl so that will not work
Image

Is it possible that I need the body for the fulcrum racing 5 or racing 7? :noidea:
Can somebody tell me which body (product number) this is?
Image

I am going nuts for a few days now and I hope that someone can help me out here. :cry:

thisisatest
Shop Owner
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Location: NoVA/DC

by thisisatest

it appears your axle does not have the three "lobes" where it goes under the freehub. according to campy, it makes your wheel a 2005, which would explain the discrepancy. it's also possible fulcrum adopted the trilobal axle a year later.


5 8 5
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Location: UK

by 5 8 5

thisisatest means the flats.

I think you'd have to swap the axle as well as the freehub due to the design changes when HG10 was introduced.

poppiholla
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm

by poppiholla

I think that the Campa wh-kx9 and the Fulcrum r5-020 hg 8/9/10 / is compatible because it is made for a round axle.

Image

What do you think?

5 8 5
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Location: UK

by 5 8 5

Looks like it should work. Sorry, can't say for certain though.

poppiholla
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:18 pm

by poppiholla

Is the diameter of the axle indeed 12mm? I am not that experienced with this kind of tool.

Image

Image

Image

if yes the campa WH-KX9 or fulcrum R5-20 body will work on my 2006 Fulcrum racing 1.

please confirm!

thisisatest
Shop Owner
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Location: NoVA/DC

by thisisatest

looks like 12mm to me

User avatar
tommasini
Posts: 1289
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 6:48 am
Location: Central USA
Contact:

by tommasini

Looks like the same as an early, early 2000ish Record axle (the older silver bodies hubs) so no lobes (as someone called them earlier). That axle and my 2001 record look identical - and by the way that one in the picture and mine both measure 17 mm (not 12.....)

I don't know the Fulcrum line that well but from the looks of that spindle I'd suggest looking for a shimano compatible for Campy in an early version. (definitly pre-2005 for sure)

You know what's a shame to realize here - look at the area in all pictures where the pawls sit - it's steel or Ti - no soft aluminum. I've looked at the Zipp website as an example and been shocked to see that the area of their freehubs where the hard steel pawl rotates in and out of are only made of aluminum. And how many others market their hubs for their light weight first........so unbeknownst to the buyer many are offering something with poor long term reliability. The Campy hubs I mentioned - the 2001's - they have tens of thousands of miles - and are still nice precise tools........

thisisatest
Shop Owner
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Location: NoVA/DC

by thisisatest

oops :oops:
it's reading 17mm. im an idiot. missed the vernier scale on the arm there.

by Weenie


fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

That axle and my 2001 record look identical - and by the way that one in the picture and mine both measure 17 mm (not 12.....)


Yours is probably the aluminium one dating from around 04-05 came with a body sporting an entirely round fit.
Those axles were 17mm wide and the newer ones still are but are chamfered at the hub side so you need to give the body a bit of a twist.
You find those in early Boras, Hyperon, Eurus and Neutrons.

The lower end Campa axles are (as I recall) made of steel and only 15mm wide, still entirely round and need their particular body to go with it.

I don't recall ever coming across a Campa wheel using a 12mm axle passed 2000 but Fulcrum may be a different story. So if that axle measures 12mm I doubt you'd still find a compatible part in the Campa catalogue.

http://bdc-forum.it/vbarticles.php?do=article&articleid=64

Ciao, ;)
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post