Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:28 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:01 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: london
hey guys sorry but for what ever reason my laptop wont find the srm headunit. when installing i get an error 1721 a problem with this windows installer package... and a program for this install to be complete cannot be run. please contact blaady blaady blaaa.

any ideas what i should do guys? its a decnt laptop with vista of that makes any difference
tikka

_________________
:)


Top
   
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:44 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 2:22 pm
Posts: 571
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
currieinahurry wrote:
hey guys sorry but for what ever reason my laptop wont find the srm headunit. when installing i get an error 1721 a problem with this windows installer package... and a program for this install to be complete cannot be run. please contact blaady blaady blaaa.

any ideas what i should do guys? its a decnt laptop with vista of that makes any difference
tikka


you cannot use those 2 bolded statements together unless you have a negation somewhere in there...

common problem with vista. http://www.tipandtrick.net/2008/error-1721-there-is-a-problem-with-this-windows-installer-package-when-install-or-uninstall-on-vista/

Since I don't use vista, I cannot offer you any insight on if this things will work. From reading over it looks like it should, first thing you should try is Disable User Access Control since that complains about everything from my 1 week on vista sometime last year.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:01 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: london
stll wont find the head unit and says that the device is unknown!!??!!
please help...
tikka

_________________
:)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 2:22 pm
Posts: 571
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
don't know what to tell you, how old is your version? could be some random bug. Try getting the latest software http://www.srm.de/usa/software.html . But if says windows doesn't recognize this device when you plug in your head unit then maybe something is screwed up with the unit or at least the usb connection.

Sorry, I'd be more help if I could see whats going on. I've never been good at giving comp advise without being present.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 6:24 pm
Posts: 4444
Location: BELGIUM
Adam and I have pretty much tried everything. He is logged on as Administrator and we installed the latest srm software from that link as well as installing the usb drivers manually. Still no go. He doesn't have problems with other USB devices. I think it's calling SRM time.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:01 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: london
its cool ma appreciate the effort

_________________
:)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:14 am 
Offline
in the industry

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:16 pm
Posts: 160
Location: Melbourne Australia
currieinahurry wrote:
hey guys sorry but for what ever reason my laptop wont find the srm headunit. when installing i get an error 1721 a problem with this windows installer package... and a program for this install to be complete cannot be run. please contact blaady blaady blaaa.

any ideas what i should do guys? its a decnt laptop with vista of that makes any difference
tikka


The only other thing I can suggest is to see what COM port your PC has allocated to the SRM. The SRM software takes COM ports 1-10, you may have to re-allocate the USB COM ports to get the SRM to work. I had to do this and it solved my COM issues. SRM have a USB troubleshooting guide on the website.

_________________
Specialist Sports Technology
http://www.luescherteknik.com.au
Zerocompromise High Performance Footwear
http://www.zerocompromise.com.au
Carbon Bike Repairs
http://www.carbonbikerepair.com.au


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:01 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: london
yea me and koen have gone though all the steps i think.
tikka

_________________
:)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1244
Location: UK
If you can, uninstall all software related to the SRM.

Download the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility and remove anything left behind (or any other programs that may not have uninstalled correctly).

Download and install Windows Installer 4.5.

Then reinstall the SRM.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 2:22 pm
Posts: 571
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
5 8 5 wrote:
If you can, uninstall all software related to the SRM.

Download the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility and remove anything left behind (or any other programs that may not have uninstalled correctly).

Download and install Windows Installer 4.5.

Then reinstall the SRM.


or stick with windows XP and not have any issues with software not working :lol: Microsoft changed what isn't broken...and broke it...but alas I'll need to get Vista eventually...damn 4GB RAM limit on 32bit....


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:01 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: london
tried installing it all on xp as well same issue
tikka

_________________
:)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:22 am
Posts: 3657
Location: Leg hurty
Shold have got a Power tap. :lol:

_________________
Pedalling Law Student.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:01 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: london
bell end ;)
tikka

_________________
:)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 27
Location: London
Another reason why switch to Linux :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject:
Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:12 pm 


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:01 pm
Posts: 2914
Location: london
well ive been in touch with auriel forrestor of scientific coaching and shes baffled as well. so im sending her the unit and usb cable monday so she can test it out (uk service centre and officail srm retailer) then if its faulty shes going to send me her personal srm unit to borrow or lead or combination until its all sorted. fingers crossed.
tikka

_________________
:)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Find your Balancing Point

in Everything wheels

PaulSD

4

233

Sun Dec 04, 2016 4:17 pm

mattr View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Help: can you find me a better value-for-money handlebar?

in MTB

InverseOfZero

10

992

Thu May 05, 2016 5:40 pm

muntos View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Hard to Find Tube

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

Lelandjt

21

1150

Tue Mar 29, 2016 4:23 am

superdx View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Need help to find correct headset - Cannondale CX9

in Road

Ohnooo

7

309

Tue May 03, 2016 9:16 am

Ohnooo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Please help me find a Ti seat binder bolt.

in Road

Frankie - B

7

356

Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:19 pm

Wingnut View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Miller, Rondje, stormur and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited