Back pain after 10 minutes of ride.

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderators: robbosmans, Moderator Team

kriss1

by kriss1

Hello friends!

I am having a trouble with my back after riding only for a few minutes ( 10- 15 minutes) on my Cannondale road bike. I have been using this bike for almost 2 years now and I have never felt an issue before. The trouble only lasts for about half an hour or so after I stop the ride. When I start riding again, it starts again.
I am used to other tasks like lifting heavy objects, work out daily, but one of them cause any trouble at all.
I am worried if I may have to quit riding. I can’t think about quitting biking as this is something I love to do a lot and one of the few things that keeps me sane and relaxed after hours of job in from of computers.
Can someone help me diagnose the issue? How can I try and rectify it? I am worried to go seek a doctor’s advice now. But if someone here could give me a glimmer of hope, I will feel much better.

AJS914

by AJS914

Have you had any kind of professional fitting?

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

silvalis

by silvalis

more importantly, has anything changed (eg, injury however minor, etc) on your body or changed on your bike between when you didn't have issues/now?
Chasse patate

alcatraz

by alcatraz

Try some stretching before the ride. I normally can't reach the floor with my hands, but after some stretching I can and it allows me to get into more of a race fit without discomfort. Lower back and thighs get more loose but you need to stretch patiently.

Possibly this can help you too...

/a

wwnick

by wwnick