Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Thu May 25, 2017 5:14 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 95 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:58 am
Posts: 383
is it stupid to get this if you have a 1000?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 3:10 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 800
I do not have a 1000, but there are just a few features that a 1000 does not have. I suspect that in a few months, that the 1000 will get those features with a software update.

I have a 800 and it was worth the upgrade.


Top
   
Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 3:10 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:25 pm
Posts: 4
I paid 399 euro to order the Garmin 820 , but then a flash offer for the 810 came in (240 euro) and purchased it as well... (Originally planned to cancel the 820 order but it is too late...)

Which device should I keep...? the 810 seems more bulletproof, tested, updated and so on... but it is still old 2013 technology, and I wonder if I would regret not getting the 820 instead...

Is the 820 worth the extra cash compared to the 810?

Am just starting to do my own solo rides after 1 year of just following groups without having a clue about where I was. I tried once a 510 and it was "okay" actually although I didn't like its unresponsive touchscreen: Felt a bit too slow and from the 80s..

Thanks for any advice!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 8:53 pm
Posts: 258
Location: L'Australie
@nils89 I just bought the 820 and am coming from the 810. From a value perspective that's up to you however I upgraded for the software and GLONASS which is worlds faster than that 810 for satellite.

So far I'm happy but its early days.

_________________
Friends don't let friends ride Mavic... or Pinarellos!


My ex ride
My old rides


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:25 pm
Posts: 4
bomber wrote:
@nils89 I just bought the 820 and am coming from the 810. From a value perspective that's up to you however I upgraded for the software and GLONASS which is worlds faster than that 810 for satellite.

So far I'm happy but its early days.


thanks for your feedback. Is swiping through different screen with the 820 a much more responsive and pleasant experience than 810 ?

If I do understand correctly the 820 is more similar to a phone touchscreen and very sensitive (even too much..?) , instead with the 810 you need to press quite a lot and the UI is slower...?

Didn't think about GLONASS Support, although I have it on my Fenix 3 and it wasn't so fast and actually created few bad GPS Tracks when running, so I disabled it most of the time. Might be different story for cycling though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:58 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 800
I like the 800 swiping better than the 820. It may be because I'm too impatient and the screen is still loading [it does not swipe until it's fully loaded].


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 11:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 8:52 am
Posts: 48
coppercook62 wrote:
is it stupid to get this if you have a 1000?


dcrainmaker does some good comparisons of the 820 to the 1000
http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2016/07/garmin-edge-820.html

I'd say the only reason to get the 820 if you already have a 1000 is because you are unhappy with the size of the 1000.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:25 pm
Posts: 4
So I decided to unbox the 820 and will return the 810.

Used the 820 This morning for an 82km ride and worked out almost perfectly.

Touchscreen (my biggest fear): worked great! Much better than 510 , very responsive, instant reaction swiping through screens and wasn't too sensitive either ! Got it to do all I wanted , and was a perfect experience to me.

Screen : auto brightness kicks in and I could always read the display . In bright sun conditions it was barely readable but still okay, and inside shadowy woods area the brightness went way too low and was starting to be an issue. Auto-brightness was very accurate 95% of the time but not perfect.

UI & potential bugs: UI was very clever designed, everything is easily accessible, and the screen responsiveness is awesome almost instant like my iPhone. Loved the experience. It never lagged , was extremely snappy between screens. No bugs whatsoever from first unboxing the device, loading the maps, and navigating. I could save the activity, and uploaded it on GC and Strava.
Only issue I had was with WI-FI after the ride, i found a wifi network in a café and tried to use it with the 820 so that it could sync with GC. It connected to the network but did not upload the activities. This might be a bug..? Also when trying to pairing it with my phone via Bluetooth my iPhone was unable to pair despite finding a random "accessory" device around. Despite having both my phone (with 4G network) and an available WiFi network it was impossible for me to upload the ride. When home I just plugged the device via USB and all was uploaded in a few seconds. I read somewhere about wifi issues but I thought that was solved with previous firmware updates? Anyway it is a minor bug for me, nothing to be angry about..

Maps: came loaded with Europe maps so I just loaded a GPX file from A strava-created course. The device read the file in 1 minute , found satellites, and I was ready to go. Only big issue was that it was absolutely impossible for the device to calculate alternative routes whenever I went off course. At the very beginning I run into a closed roundabout , could not get through it, so had to improvise a deviation. The device went nuts and started signaling "off course" and "calculating" then "calculating" again... Meanwhile it lost GPS fix and stopped showing my location on the screen. When I went back on the course it started giving "turn by turn directions" in great manner: fast , reliable, easy to read instruction. I did not miss a single turn till the end of the ride. Great experience. Although the device is not able to re-route in case I go off course. Is this normal? I don't think so.

Overall: very happy with this purchase and feel this will be my main device for many years to come. sending back for a refund my brand new 249$ 810 unit.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:44 am
Posts: 696
Questions for those who have actual real world usage;

1. Zooming on the map; is this the same as the 810, in that you tap the screen anywhere, then a + and - appears, which you can tap to zoom in and out instantly?

2. Zooming on elevation; again, is this the same as the 810?

Cheers

_________________
My Youtube Channel; Technical Bike Stuff, LOLz and Neo-Noir visions from the mirror realm


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:07 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 800
I do not have a 810, but it's similar to the 800. Same prompts.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:25 pm
Posts: 4
TheDarkInstall wrote:
Questions for those who have actual real world usage;

1. Zooming on the map; is this the same as the 810, in that you tap the screen anywhere, then a + and - appears, which you can tap to zoom in and out instantly?

2. Zooming on elevation; again, is this the same as the 810?

Cheers


1)I Never used a 810 so cannot compare but my 820 seems to have the same system with + and - to zoom on the fly while following a course. There is also a hand symbol : if you press it you can scroll around the map to see what's coming next for example or review your itinerary and so on.
I don't know is if the screen in the 810 is equally responsive though: I cannot compare on that either.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 4:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:44 am
Posts: 696
Thanks for the replies.

So, to confirm, while on the map page, you tap the screen anywhere and a + and - appears, which you can then tap and it zooms in and out.

Then, on the elevation page, how does this specifically work? Do you have the scale distance level on the bottom right, and the height scale on the top left, which you can tap and then zoom in and out of, depending on which one you tap?

_________________
My Youtube Channel; Technical Bike Stuff, LOLz and Neo-Noir visions from the mirror realm


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:09 pm
Posts: 552
nils89 wrote:

Maps: came loaded with Europe maps so I just loaded a GPX file from A strava-created course. The device read the file in 1 minute , found satellites, and I was ready to go. Only big issue was that it was absolutely impossible for the device to calculate alternative routes whenever I went off course. At the very beginning I run into a closed roundabout , could not get through it, so had to improvise a deviation. The device went nuts and started signaling "off course" and "calculating" then "calculating" again... Meanwhile it lost GPS fix and stopped showing my location on the screen. When I went back on the course it started giving "turn by turn directions" in great manner: fast , reliable, easy to read instruction. I did not miss a single turn till the end of the ride. Great experience. Although the device is not able to re-route in case I go off course. Is this normal? I don't think so.



Sort of same behaviour as the 520. When you go 'off course' the unit become a little nuts, sometimes freesing the map, and of course, no recalculate. That last one is a little normal, as the 520 can only follow a course, it not really navigates... But still. I'm told I could send the unit back for warranty as this freesing is not normal, but I discovered that goining to an aother screen and then back to the map de-freeses the map ;-)

_________________
Canyon Ultimate CF SLX 2013
Scott Addict Orica Greenedge
Canyon Endurace CF SLX


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:56 pm
Posts: 39
Is anyone running the 'incident' portion turned off, I fear it will alert my family in error... not willing to test this feature out either.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:16 pm
Posts: 19
4151zero wrote:
Is anyone running the 'incident' portion turned off, I fear it will alert my family in error... not willing to test this feature out either.


I have yet to enable this feature as I have also heard that there can be some false positives and a notice sent when in fact nothing has happened.


Top
   
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 2:25 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 95 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Interval Discussion and Resource Thread

in Training

RyanH

11

1986

Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:19 pm

RyanH View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin Edge 500

in Road

Andrewjn

5

990

Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:24 pm

3Pio View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. FS: Garmin Edge 500 *SOLD*

in For sale - Pictures are mandatory 22-3-13

emorydptt

0

159

Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:46 pm

emorydptt View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin Edge Mount

in Cycle Chat

addictR1

7

987

Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:12 am

saeie1 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: beeatnik, rwatt, sungod and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited