HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 457
Location: SW England
Anyone have any experience with this? Is it a viable alternative to the Garmin model? It seems to be cheaper but I can't find much information on it.

I'm specifically interested in how it interacts with the Garmin computer itself (Edge 500 in my case).

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2012/02/bont ... ensor.html

_________________
"Campagnolo; because I ride a bicycle, not a fishing rod"


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:38 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:32 pm
Posts: 52
Easy to install and no problem with any Edge 500/510/800/810.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 982
Location: Sweden
Using the Bontrager ANT+ Cadence only sensor with Edge 500, not one glitch in 10.000+ km, only on its second battery. The Edge seems to find it very quick too at startup.

_________________

The Shivenge


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:52 am
Posts: 39
I used to run one on my edge 510 before i broke it ,so replaced back with a garmin ,as it was the only one they had in the shop ....they both seem to work just as good as each other for me :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:42 pm 
Online

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 174
Dcrainmaker once mentioned that all of these sensors are identical, since they are all made at the same place in China, but with different brand / packaging. The plastic case may be a bit different, but they all work the same. I have a Motorola branded one, and it works fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 5:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 982
Location: Sweden
Top tip of the day is to always ditch the cadence sensor magnet for the crank, and place a strong neodymium magnet on the pedal axle (works less well with ti axles...), the magnet doesn't even have to pass anywhere near the cadence sensor.

IMO very nice not having to keep a 2-3mm clearance, I have atlest 15mm clearence as that is where the sensor points straight down under the chain stay.

_________________

The Shivenge


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 910
Location: The Lone Star State
It's an ANT+ system, so it will work with no issues.

I had the cadence sensor on my old Madone, which didn't have the pocket for the DuoTrap sensor. I found that the sensor worked just as well, if not better than the Garmin sensor (as opposed to the Node head units - first versions, at least - which were absolute garbage). The battery life was better than the Garmin units for an equal amount of distance travelled.

One of the benefits of the Bontrager system vs. the Garmin is that the crank arm magnet was not attached to the arm, but was part of a rubber band system. I preferred it over the other magnet systems.

Oh, and if you are using a Garmin with GPS, why not just get a cadence sensor, and let the Garmin determine speed based on GPS?

_________________
Trek Crockett, Madone, Superfly, SpeedConcept & Cobia


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 982
Location: Sweden
Using the GPS for speed works less than well on a trainer, AFAIK atleast, but never tried it myself. ;)

_________________

The Shivenge


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 910
Location: The Lone Star State
GPS won't work on a trainer, because you aren't moving ;)

_________________
Trek Crockett, Madone, Superfly, SpeedConcept & Cobia


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 288
I have three of the Bontrager Sensors on my bikes, all very good. Smaller than some of the other sensors out there and easily pairs with Garmin as well as SRM head units.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 409
Location: England, UK
I use one to measure speed on the turbo trainer, using a Garmin 800. I remove it for outdoor riding. The rubber band fitting is good for this. Works just fine.

I'm using a different magnet on the wheel which is a bit more robust.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 457
Location: SW England
I ended up buying this however have issues with the cadence, it just doesn't pick up 98% of the time, even if the crank is touching the unit. I will try DMFs suggestion.

Do you have a link to source one?

_________________
"Campagnolo; because I ride a bicycle, not a fishing rod"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:06 pm
Posts: 377
On a side note, does anyone know if using the bontrager duotrap means it will override Garmin's speed calculations by gps? Or will the Garmin unit somehow toggle between the two? I sometimes go through the city centre with tall buildings all around and noticed that the speed display goes crazy...

_________________
Trek Mad-one 7 Series team colours http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=115500&start=15


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 457
Location: SW England
The magnetic speed is calibrated from the GPS, so I assume the computer combines the two.

_________________
"Campagnolo; because I ride a bicycle, not a fishing rod"


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:05 pm 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], MoPho and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Cadence sensor for Garmin - any WW options?

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

RedRacer

15

792

Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:23 am

kervelo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Latest Garmin speed and cadence sensors, what do we think?

[ Go to page: 1, 2, 3 ]

in Cycle Chat

MartyWild

31

2106

Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:35 pm

markyboy View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Sensor attachment to fork

in Road

jonloh

5

391

Fri Mar 13, 2015 5:36 pm

bura View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Off saddle cadence

in Training

itguy

3

479

Tue Mar 17, 2015 3:20 am

itguy View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Firmware upgrade Shimano D-Fly Di2 sensor SM-EWW01 (solved)

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

jsprbcn

22

2095

Tue Mar 03, 2015 3:56 pm

jsprbcn View the latest post


cron
It is currently Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:51 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB