HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 440
Location: England
Anyone have any experience with this? Is it a viable alternative to the Garmin model? It seems to be cheaper but I can't find much information on it.

I'm specifically interested in how it interacts with the Garmin computer itself (Edge 500 in my case).

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2012/02/bont ... ensor.html

_________________
BMC SLR02 @ 7kg
"Campagnolo; because I ride a bicycle, not a fishing rod"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:32 pm
Posts: 51
Easy to install and no problem with any Edge 500/510/800/810.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:46 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 963
Location: Sweden
Using the Bontrager ANT+ Cadence only sensor with Edge 500, not one glitch in 10.000+ km, only on its second battery. The Edge seems to find it very quick too at startup.

_________________
Roadbike
Planet X Stealth w/ drop bars

Mountainbike
Van Nicholas Zion Ti


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:52 am
Posts: 39
I used to run one on my edge 510 before i broke it ,so replaced back with a garmin ,as it was the only one they had in the shop ....they both seem to work just as good as each other for me :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:53 pm
Posts: 103
Dcrainmaker once mentioned that all of these sensors are identical, since they are all made at the same place in China, but with different brand / packaging. The plastic case may be a bit different, but they all work the same. I have a Motorola branded one, and it works fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 5:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 963
Location: Sweden
Top tip of the day is to always ditch the cadence sensor magnet for the crank, and place a strong neodymium magnet on the pedal axle (works less well with ti axles...), the magnet doesn't even have to pass anywhere near the cadence sensor.

IMO very nice not having to keep a 2-3mm clearance, I have atlest 15mm clearence as that is where the sensor points straight down under the chain stay.

_________________
Roadbike
Planet X Stealth w/ drop bars

Mountainbike
Van Nicholas Zion Ti


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 605
It's an ANT+ system, so it will work with no issues.

I had the cadence sensor on my old Madone, which didn't have the pocket for the DuoTrap sensor. I found that the sensor worked just as well, if not better than the Garmin sensor (as opposed to the Node head units - first versions, at least - which were absolute garbage). The battery life was better than the Garmin units for an equal amount of distance travelled.

One of the benefits of the Bontrager system vs. the Garmin is that the crank arm magnet was not attached to the arm, but was part of a rubber band system. I preferred it over the other magnet systems.

Oh, and if you are using a Garmin with GPS, why not just get a cadence sensor, and let the Garmin determine speed based on GPS?

_________________
2013 Madone 5
2012 SpeedConcept 7
2013 Superfly


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 963
Location: Sweden
Using the GPS for speed works less than well on a trainer, AFAIK atleast, but never tried it myself. ;)

_________________
Roadbike
Planet X Stealth w/ drop bars

Mountainbike
Van Nicholas Zion Ti


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 605
GPS won't work on a trainer, because you aren't moving ;)

_________________
2013 Madone 5
2012 SpeedConcept 7
2013 Superfly


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 229
I have three of the Bontrager Sensors on my bikes, all very good. Smaller than some of the other sensors out there and easily pairs with Garmin as well as SRM head units.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 375
Location: England, UK
I use one to measure speed on the turbo trainer, using a Garmin 800. I remove it for outdoor riding. The rubber band fitting is good for this. Works just fine.

I'm using a different magnet on the wheel which is a bit more robust.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 440
Location: England
I ended up buying this however have issues with the cadence, it just doesn't pick up 98% of the time, even if the crank is touching the unit. I will try DMFs suggestion.

Do you have a link to source one?

_________________
BMC SLR02 @ 7kg
"Campagnolo; because I ride a bicycle, not a fishing rod"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:06 pm
Posts: 260
On a side note, does anyone know if using the bontrager duotrap means it will override Garmin's speed calculations by gps? Or will the Garmin unit somehow toggle between the two? I sometimes go through the city centre with tall buildings all around and noticed that the speed display goes crazy...

_________________
Trek Mad-one 7 Series team colours http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=115500&start=15


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 440
Location: England
The magnetic speed is calibrated from the GPS, so I assume the computer combines the two.

_________________
BMC SLR02 @ 7kg
"Campagnolo; because I ride a bicycle, not a fishing rod"


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:05 pm 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], thecounty and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin 800 and speed sensor

in GPS, Strava, Ride pics and adventures.

KOGAN

5

482

Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:46 pm

ridonkulus View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin 800 / Powertap G3 - Speed/Cadence/GPS

in GPS, Strava, Ride pics and adventures.

Stoo

5

204

Thu Jul 31, 2014 12:04 pm

rijndael View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. after installing Stages, Edge can't find speed/cad sensor

in Road

Frankie - B

9

515

Sun May 11, 2014 11:47 pm

HammerTime2 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BMC Chainstay and Sensor compatibility

in Training

Devon

2

397

Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:28 am

Devon View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Dead Garmin new style heart rate sensor.

in Wanted

Juanmoretime

0

92

Sun Jun 15, 2014 10:31 am

Juanmoretime View the latest post


It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:13 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB