HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 3:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm
Posts: 202
Ive copied a few TCX files (from 810) over and they show up as new rides in addition to the same strava ride. Granted I have been not starting/stopping the strava record at the same time as the garmin files.(maybe that's the problem?? don't know). I basically like the way strava has the segments so I can see my PR's breakdown, but I want to compare my actual power data from the 810/powertap.. instead of strava's power info.

any help is appreciated… anybody using copymysport ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:58 am
Posts: 155
Location: Finland
Why record the rides with strava-app at all? You can just upload your 810 files and get all the information the bike computer collects, including the real power.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:23 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm
Posts: 202
will I still get all the segments ?.. guess I'll have to try.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:55 am
Posts: 77
Location: USA
Yes, it will still show any segments you ride through.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:04 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Addison, IL
It would be great if Strava integrated with Garmin's computers. With the iPhone app, the tech is all in place, it would just take some cooperation between the two companies.

_________________
Cervelo R5 VWD LTD
Rapha-FOCUS Mares CX Team Bike
Bianchi Via Nirone 7
Trek 5200 OCLV USPS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm
Posts: 584
There was a website that would auto transfer data from your garmin connect to Strava. So you could use that auto Bluetooth upload function of the 810/510 to get to uploaded.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 3:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm
Posts: 202
kulivontot wrote:
There was a website that would auto transfer data from your garmin connect to Strava. So you could use that auto Bluetooth upload function of the 810/510 to get to uploaded.


yeah it's copymysport now….

I'm just using the .tcx file and importing to strava… did it for my ride this morning and worked well enough. Saves my phone battery for sure.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:12 pm
Posts: 22
If you do the garmin upload on strava it should automatically show your power data, maybe it's the fact you're taking the .tcx off the garmin and doing a file upload to strava


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:43 am
Posts: 15
copymysports works alright, you've got to give it a bit of time. if you rename the rides on garminconnect I find then they upload quicker.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 536
What would be cool would be if the Strava app were able to sync to the Garmin units (like Garmin Connect does). That way, we could upload rides to Garmin, then connect to Strava and upload through the app, rather than having to use a 3d party program or download the ride as a .tcx file.

_________________
2013 Madone 5
2012 SpeedConcept 7
2013 Superfly


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:43 am
Posts: 15
You basically can do that. Log into Strava with your unit plugged in, hit upload, and presto! It detects and uploads all new rides.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Posts: 536
I'm referring to the Strava app on my phone (an iphone). If the 810 (or 510 for that matter) could connect to the Strava app via bluetooth, same as it does with Garmin Connect and transfer the data wirelessly. I'm assuming all that would need to happen is for Strava to add a bluetooth extension to their app, but I would assume that Garmin somehow encrypts their file transfer to a proprietary algorithm, which Strava (or MapMyRide, etc) doesn't have access to. Sure, the app can connect to the device, but the app won't know what to do with the data it receives.

_________________
2013 Madone 5
2012 SpeedConcept 7
2013 Superfly


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:43 am
Posts: 15
Ah, I see. Thought you refering to the app on your PC, not phone. That would be sweet, no doubt. Programmers iut there, any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:57 pm 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin and Strava conflicting data reporting

in Road

Svetty

7

596

Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:16 pm

strobbekoen View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Strava elevation data difference iPhone/Android and Garmin

in GPS, Strava, Ride pics and adventures.

jsprbcn

12

721

Wed Mar 12, 2014 6:11 pm

ARL002 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Should Garmin allow STRAVA segments to be imported?

in GPS, Strava, Ride pics and adventures.

Hbrown

8

499

Fri Jun 27, 2014 11:44 pm

kulivontot View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin Edge 510 map data problem?

in Training

ToffieBoi

1

183

Sun May 18, 2014 9:12 am

mentok View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Edge 510 losing rides, and all data, Garmin acknowledges ..

in GPS, Strava, Ride pics and adventures.

n808

4

407

Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:23 am

n808 View the latest post


It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:49 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB