Campagnolo Neutron for winter?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

fitty4

by fitty4

I have been looking at campagnolo neutron for a while and I need a new set of training wheels, I want some wheels that a tough enough for the winter and I want them to be fairly light, responsive and stiff and i have heard so much good stuff about the neutron but can they last through winters?

finner

by finner

I have been using Neutrons for the last two years and no issues. Lots of rain, rough chip and seal roads. I stripped the rear hub a while back as I needed to change the freehub, shimano, and the bearings were perfect. I was very impressed with the seals, looks like they were doing an excellent job. They are a popular choice as a good training/allround wheel and other than the odd adlustment to the cones, simple, they seem trouble free. I don't think you can go wrong.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

fdegrove
Tubbie Guru

by fdegrove

Hi,

Actually, I ride nothing else during the Winter season. Have two identical sets of Neutrons (tubular version) and absolutely love them.
For some reason they're also easier to climb with than my otherwise lighter Boras.
Higher vertical compliance perhaps?

Ciao, ;)
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

mr_tim

by mr_tim

Be sure to use decent soft compound pads & to clean out the hubs once in a while to get max life span out the rims & bearings / cone faces. The hub seals are good, but they will dry up internally over time so need to be opened up say every 1500km to freshen things up. With that foreword yeah, they'll work fine for you.