ENVE SES VS ZIPP VS HED + PowerTap

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

fluffandstuff

by fluffandstuff

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to weightweenies. I have been riding for half a year now, and am thinking about getting some wheel upgrades on my tarmac (now has factory DT r460 wheels). I have around 2k USD budget for this so I narrowed down my options to the following:
1. ENVE SES 4.5 with DT 240
2. Zipp 404 Firecrest
3. HED 4+ Black + PowerTap
Their prices are in descending order.

About myself, I have ridden around 4500km past half year since I started cycling. I dont race and I dont have a power meter yet. I cruise at 32-35km/h at 155-165bpm on flat with no wind and have 950-1000 VAM during 30 min 7%-8% climbs.

Would love to hear about everyone's experience with these wheelsets above, and any suggestions or recommendations will be appreciated.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

PinaF8

by PinaF8

From my experience of Enve 4.5 SES carbon hubs. A bit on the soft side and will rub pads when sprinting. But, I did read somewhere here that if built right you won’t have any pad runs. Have you thought about Campagnolo Bora?
S-WORKS VENGE 1ST GEN
PINARELLO F8
PINARELLO F10
2018 BMC SLR01
2019 SCOTT SPARK RC 900

fluffandstuff

by fluffandstuff

Thanks, I have researched bora ultras but their retail price on PBK seem to be 400-500 dollars above my budget, I might consider Bora Ones too. There are some tubular bora ultras for half the price but they appear to be 2015 versions and have narrow rim width.
Do you know if the same Enve flex problem happen to dt240 build too? I heard dt hubs will be easier to maintain too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

spdntrxi

by spdntrxi

DT240s flex as well... but there is so much to flex ? sometimes you cannot blame the hubs alone.
2024 BMC TeamMachine R