Wheels for a fat lad

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

merser

by merser

On the back of a suggestion in another section of this site, I'm posing my question here. I'm a bit of a newbie so please bear with...

My bike came with stock mavic askium wheels. Now I've thoroughly been bitten by the cycling bug, I want to upgrade my wheelset and am looking for suggestions please.

I'm a big guy at 6'4" and c. 109kg though that's dropping rapidly it's unlikely to go much sub 100kg as I require a certain level of bulk to play basketball which is my other athletic love!

I have been looking at all sorts of top and middle end wheels and the weight restrictions concerned me. Braking now hugely concerns me (with carbon rims) so I'm tempted to now err away from full carbon and go alloy or carbon/alloy mix.

I would definitely consider a custom built wheelset but as I don't have a strong cycling network I wouldn't know where to begin with finding a wheel builder etc. So anything people suggest on that front would be awesome too. I'm based in NW England.

Thanks in advance. Apologies if this is in the wrong section or has already been answered elsewhere.

Jamie

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Haydn

by Haydn

Like (in lieu of a facebookesque like button)

beanbiken

by beanbiken

Not so much a wheel suggestion but maybe with the inertia you would create you would be better suited to a disc brake ride?
BB

Coffee & carbon

merser

by merser

beanbiken wrote:Not so much a wheel suggestion but maybe with the inertia you would create you would be better suited to a disc brake ride?

Hi mate, Yeah perhaps, but that horse has bolted! I committed to a £2k bike (which was a huge ball ache trying to find something big enough) and there wasn't a disc option available. Maybe next time.