Obermayer Schwarz Edition

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

KCookie

by KCookie

Hi Guys,
Is it possible to recommend a good tubular tyre to go with my new Obie Schwarz. Preferably I would like them to be all black which I can't see many of, and around 260g ish. I've never ridden tubulars before as I've got Meilensteins clinchers, so I'm really new to this. I've read so many posts on here about tyres, but obviously people have different opinions which is making the decision difficult. So far with my research I've come up with,

Veloflex Carbon 23mm Black 260g.
Vittoria Corsa Graphene Black/Tanwall 25mm 240g.
Vittoria Corsa CX Black 25mm 255g Cheapest with 56% off.

Please can you guys help me out with your great knowledge and experience of ridding tubulars.
Cheers
Last edited by KCookie on Thu May 12, 2016 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LionelB

by LionelB

These are two good choices. Look at FMB as well.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

sungod

by sungod

i use veloflex on mine, carbon front, arenberg rear

they do not have any real puncture protection, but on dry roads the rubber resists cutting - on wet roads they cut more easily

they are traditional construction, straightforward to repair if needed, but for a small puncture i just fix it with sealant (tufo extreme works well for this)

but the new corsa graphene ones are tempting, if they really are much more puncture resistant together with good performance/ride quality then i would try some

KCookie

by KCookie

Thanks guys, would you still get a better ride with 25mm vs 23mm as with clinchers. ?.
Still a bit undecided with tan side walls, but most now come like that, hoping they will look alright, used to all black tyres.

audiophilitis

by audiophilitis