25mm Tubeless Tyres

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

peted76

by peted76

So, I've been running 25mm Schwalbe Pro Ones for the past eight months... great feeling tyres, I do notice the difference from running tubes previously.

No problems for seven months, then in the past month I've had two punctures. The first was big (now repaired) and the second I discovered I didn't have enough sealant in to seal it, OR maybe I just didn't shake the bottle enough when I added the sealant, I don't know....

Anyway fixed hole, put back on rim, pumped up to seat them with no sealant in and I can feel air coming out... upon closer inspection I find along the sidewall, for about eight inches air is leaking or seeping out (84PSI), also it's seeping out actually on the tread in some areas!

I know I've no sealant in, BUT I wouldn't have thought these tyres would effectively be porous and that you'd HAVE to use sealant. Apparently you do, now I know.
The Schwalble rep in the UK said that the older 'One' Tubeless didn't leak but they've taken off the butyl layer on the inside for weight saving (makes sense I guess, no need to have a static layer and a sealant layer doing the same thing).

Anyway, I was exploring other performance based Tubeless options out there.. there aren't many at 25mm it seems.
I thought I'd seen a rolling resistance test somewhere, but my google-fu skills have deserted me at the moment.

Nice article here on currently available options: http://road.cc/content/buyers-guide/182 ... ogy-rubber

Question, does anyone have any news or experience of the new S-Works Turbo Road Tubeless ? (I like the idea of 26mm) - Will this be available in Europe soon?

Question, does anyone have any news or experience with the IRC Formula light Tubeless tyres in 25mm? - e.g. how to they hold up on pot holed and rough roads? Are they a race day only tyre or suitable for a weekend warrior like myself?