pre-glue spare tub if using tape?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

are

by are

I'm just getting started w/ tubulars, so of course I dread the eventual first flat. I've read much of the sticky threads in the forum; it's like a 2nd job there's so much material at this point. I'm planning to try the new Effeto Mariposa tape, since it seems to be easy and well regarded. What do you do if you flat and need to use the spare tub? The rim would be theoretically totally clean, i.e., non-sticky, when putting on the spare. Would it be smartest to put glue on the spare beforehand, so it is somewhat tacky when mounted?

Also, with wide tubular rims, is one of the lightweight tufo's still the best option for a spare? Aren't they awfully narrow for the new generation of rims?

Thanks

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Denavelo

by Denavelo

You need glue on both surfaces (Rim + Spare Tubular) for it to work effectively.

Don't be scared of something that seems to be advertised as over complicated (Gluing wheels)

Some people have good and bad results with Tape, but almost everyone experience good results with gluing. Me personally, I don't like the side to side play you get with tape. Cornering hard you can feel an wince of tire roll. I don't feel that with glue. Going deep into a turn and feeling your tire roll a slight bit can affect the rest of your ride. Over compensating for what you feel is an inevitable tire roll off situation. JUST USE GLUE!

It can be a therapeutic process when working on your bike. I glue all the time and never think twice about it.