Contradicting tubular glueing instructions: Campagnolo & Con

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Lightweenie

by Lightweenie

Hello,

I am new to tubulars and just got a pair of bora one 50's and Continental gatorskins that are stretching on them right now. In another 48 hours I should start with the glueing, however Campagnolo and Continental provide contradicting instructions which is quite confusing:

Continental: exactly 2 layers on the tire, exactly 1 layer on the rim. Put one layer on each, wait 12 hours, put another layer on the tire and mount the tire immediately.
Campagnolo: at least 1 layer on the tire and at least 2 on the rim. Leave at least 12 hours between each layer (it does not mention how long to wait before mounting the tire).

Any ideas? I was thinking to put 2+2 layers (which satisfies both recommendations for tire, but would contradict Continentals instructions for the rim), wait 12 hours between the two layers and mount immediately after the second layer. What do more experienced users recommend?

lightweenie

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

RussellS

by RussellS

Putting 1 or 2 layers on the tire and letting it dry is somewhat irrelevant. The glue soaks into the base tape so there is no difference between 1 or 2 layers. So I put 1 layer on the tire and let it dry. Overnight or a whole day, does not matter. This exactly 12 hours stuff is nonsense. Just don't let it dry for weeks or months, then it would lose effectiveness. The glue should be dry but not bone dry. Freshly dried. If the glue is months or years dry, then it is just hard crust. Not effective. Few days of drying, perfect.