Rim Tape on Carbon Clinchers

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

fogman

by fogman

I happened to be reading the warning sheet that came with my Continental GP4000S II clincher tires. I will be mounting them on Campagnolo Bora One 35 Clinchers. I usually discard this sheet and just mount the tires.

Basically it warns against using latex or lightweight butyl tubes and recommends using rim tape even if there are no spoke holes drilled in the rim bed. Continental claims the rim strip acts an insulating layer and helps to keep the inner tube cool. I would think the rim bed would not be as susceptible to heat retention as the sidewalls of the rim. I am not an engineer but am thinking this is overkill and unnecessary.

There is also a section on recommended braking technique.

Additionally Continental advises using the ETRTO guidelines for tire-rim compatibility, so a 23mm clincher would technically be incompatible with a 17c Bora rim. I am thinking of going against this advice and still use a 23mm clincher due to frame clearance issues.

Any thoughts or comments on this, particularly the rim tape? I was not planning on using latex or lightweight butyl tubes anyway. Here is a link to the warning sheet:

https://www.conti-online.com/www/downlo ... notice.pdf
It's all downhill from here, except for the uphills.

eric

by eric

I have used 2 layers of 2mil Kapton tape as a rim strip. This is on rims that need a strip. It works well. Being thin makes it easier to mount tires than with the typical woven plastic strips (which I have also used on carbon clinchers). The tube isn't touching the side walls of the rim as the tire is in the way. It's main contact with the rim is the bed. CF does not conduct heat well but there is probably some that makes it from the brake track to the bed. Whatever heat does go there won't be convected away to air like with exterior parts of the rim.