Summer road tyres

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Notstrong

by Notstrong

Hi all

I run with schwalbe ultremo zx tyres on my colnago and was thinking of changing to Michelin pro races any recommendations or personal experiences with either tyres would be great, I've found the schwalbe's are very good at being puncture resistant.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Sjoerd

by Sjoerd

I've had bad luck with Michelins every time and I just don't like the road-feel they give. But I seem to be kind of alone on this one, since they're highly rated. I was always a big fan of Vittoria Open Corsa's until I tried Veloflex Corsa's. I let them dry out for about six months, never punctured in 6.000 kilometres and the road-feel...wow, super impressive. I have no experience with Schwalbe though.

ave

by ave

No, you're not alone, Sjoerd.
There were many voices over the internet against the Pro 3, when it came out, many did seek old stock of Pro 2s.
I was hesitant a bit because of this, but still decided to try the Pro 3.
~5 sets and 3 full seasons now. Not a single flat and no problems whatsoever. There are very small cuts on the surface, but it does not have any negative effect on performance, comfort and flat resistance, it seems. I hit many potholes at high speed - no flats.

All in all, I trust Michelin, I'll will. But to the point, I've no experience with pro 4, there're too many models, it's quite confusing which shall I get. :)

welkman

by welkman

Krilion Carbons or their alternative are great, but I love my new veloflex carbons! You could try the veloflex masters?

djconnel

by djconnel

Michelin 25 mm Pros & Grand Bois 26 mm are my present favorites. Every time I nail a pothole I'm glad for the extra air in my tires.

RJKflyer

by RJKflyer

Can I offer Conti 4 Seasons 25 into the mix...?

madmole