Santa Cruz Superlight- New UPDATES

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

DanW

by DanW

Hi everyone,

Like many I have been watching WW for a while without contributing much... I have just bought my first new frame ever (very exciting) and thought it might be nice to share :D

My goal for building this bike was to have one bike only, that was completely fuss free, easy to maintain and clean, and confidence inspiring both up and down the hill. My day to day rides are rocky and rooty XC on the trails of South Wales so stiffness, reliability and performance were key.

I may race occasionally but would class myself as more of what is called here as a "hobbyist". I am a student so was on quite a budget and the components have mainly been slowly collected over the last few years.... I also have a liking for light weight which is why I am here :D

She is a touch over 23lbs (weighed at my LBS) at the moment so I am looking for advice on cutting the weight without sacrificing function. Also, I have never really felt that any of the bikes I have owned have been particularly aesthetically coordinated so any fashionweenie advice is also much appreciated.

She went from this:

To this:

Build list (weights in bold are verified, weights in normal font are estimated):

Frame;; Santa Cruz Superlight w/ Fox Float R 2500
Crank Arms; XTR M960 w/ Ti pinch bolts 526
Bottom Bracket; XT 105
Chainrings; Middleburn Hardcoat 136
Chainring Bolts; Alu outer, Ti granny 17
Chain; KMC X9 SL 246
Rear mech; Sram X.0 w/ Alu cage bolts, Ti cable bolt 196
Front mech; Shimano XTR M-970 w/ Ti/ Alu bolts 125
Brakes; Hope Mono Mini w/ Ti caliper and rotor bolts, alu lever bolts, alu lever pivot bolts, KCNC and Ashima rotors, Fibre Lyte carbon reservoir caps 674
Shifters; Sram X.0 gripshift (w/ Transfil Black Snake inner cables) 198
Cassette; Shimano Dura-Ace 12-28 179
Cables; Shimano XTR SP41 (33g per meter) 55
Wheels; Prolite Allein 1600