2005 Fuji C7 Team Issue: 14.5 lbs (see page 2 for more pix)

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

worstshotever

by worstshotever

The Final Build (as of May 2010):

At the steps of the Lincoln Memorial.

Edit: More final build pics and discussion added down-thread.

Hey, I've spent alot of time watching the board without saying much. But I've just begun my first bike build, and I thought I should introduce myself (especially as I am sure to need some help with this project)! I used to ride road quite a bit in college, but stopped after I graduated and only recently returned, thanks in part to watching some great road racing on Versus last season, which got the juices flowing again. My college bike was a rather twitchy circa 1990 or so aluminum Canondale Criterium frame (I think it was a C300 maybe?), with a mix of SunTour superbe pro and lesser-line components, tube shifters, and all the old school stuff. No clue what happened to it in the intervening 15 years. I figured I might as well get something tough and inexpensive to replace it as I was getting back into cycling (since I've been known to pick up hobbies and then drop them before!), so I bought an 05 LeMond Sarthe with Campy Veloce, which I figured I could beat to h*ll without too much worry (plus, I must admit I thought the cream sickle color scheme was very cool). I love the Sarthe for what it is, but of course I am now totally hooked again and decided to put something a bit more fun together. Here's the proposed new build, at least the parts I have collected so far, most of which I picked up used here and there when I found a good deal (I'm 5'7, 150 lbs, by the way):

2005 Fuji Team Issue C7 frame 52cm (the dark blue one that says "Fuji" everywhere). Think it's about 1100g, and the fork another 400g or so -- not amazing, but a great deal lighter than my plat ox sarthe.