Caad12 Black Inc. Build

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

raffit78

by raffit78

I've been lurking this forum for quite a while, as it is full of great info. To introduce myself, I've been riding road bikes since 2015. Love being on the bike. Currently ride a specialized roubaix. I was one of those guys to walk in to my LBS, with 0 info about road bikes and ended up buying this bike. (Merely picked cause of color). Just being honest.

I knew I wanted to start riding, but did 0 research on what type, how far, main reason to ride.

After being on this forum and lurking, I thought to myself that I would really like to build my next bike ground up. Pick my parts I like and so came this caad12.

I got a killer deal on the frame and couldn't say no.

While I'm still waiting for many of the components, I will start putting up the pics I currently have.

Frame with fork on.

Frame weight alone (with hanger)

Here is the fork, this was with the expander in. (Not cut to size)

Sisl2 crankset (although I have seen other numbers, not sure why mine is quite a few grams more, no bearing)

Kalloy Uno 110mm stem.

Dura ace 9100 front derailleur

Dura ace 9100 brakes

Chinese Cage on eBay (weight weenie referred, thank you)

Sisl2 crank arm

This is all I have so far, 9100 brake levers and rear derailleur should be here next week. I will weight and snap some more pics.

I do live near some mountains, mt baldy, glendora mountain road, crystal lake and quite a bit of my riding will be made on them. I do have some carbon wheels on the roubaix, though I'd like some other wheels for this build. I weight 72kg. Suggestions are great. Not looking for "hill climbing, aero, specific" just something I can depend on descending.

If anyone has suggestions or input, I'm all ears as this is my first ground up build. Certainly excited. While I am getting parts, I'm also trying to buy tools to help me along the way.