Colnago C60 - 61CM Traditional PLWH

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

garypremo

by garypremo

Hello, I am pretty new to Weight Weenies, but I got some great wrenching advice here and I want to introduce myself and my Colnago C60 61CM Traditional PLWH bike.
FullSizeRender(1).jpg

It’s a bit unusual in that the drivetrain is a combination of Campagnolo and SRAM components. Since I was born a long time ago, and the terrain I ride sometimes includes 20% gradients I wanted a lowest gear ratio comparable to my 2001 Trek 5900 triple which has a 32 largest cog on the cassette, resulting in a .9375 : 1 gear ratio.

I also wanted to bike to be as authentic Italian as possible, so I tried to use a Super Record 11 drivetrain to the degree possible. Of course since Campy doesn’t make MTB drivetrains or road triples any longer, I had to incorporate either a Shimano or SRAM cassette. I calculated that a 36T cog combined with a Campy 34T small chainring would result in a .9444 :1 gear ratio. I was unable to find any Shimano 11 speed cassettes with a 36T largest cog, although there were some with even larger cogs. The only 11 speed cassette with a 36T largest cog was the SRAM PG-1170.

I learned through an excellent article at the link below, that a SRAM (Exact Actuation) 10 Speed Mountain derailleur paired with a SRAM 11 speed Road shifter would work with the SRAM PG-1170 cassette.

http://blog.artscyclery.com/science-beh ... atibility/

Here's a pic of the mixed OEM shifters:
FullSizeRender(2).jpg

The component list:

*Campy Super Record 11 Ultra Torque Compact crankset, 50/34
*Campy Super Record 11 Front Derailleur
*Campy Super Record 11 Ultrashift Ergopower left shifter (I had to by a pair and use only the left!)
*SRAM Red 11 speed right shifter (these are luckily sold as either right only, left only or a pair)
*SRAM 11 speed PG- 1170 11-36 "Road" cassette