New here. My aluminium weenie (not)

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

euph

by euph

I'm currently studying for a degree in Mechanical Engineering and have been interested in cycling all my life but only really got seriously interested in road bikes and building them last year. I knocked together a steel framed, Sora equipped beater last summer and absolutely loved riding such a comparatively light bike. I decided I wanted to get a better frame for my next build however I'm on a relatively low budget in comparison to you guys. I initially chose a Kinesis Racelight T2 but saw a TK2 on ebay for £150 so snapped it up immediately and put my Sora groupset on it. I rode this for a little bit throughout the winter until I felt it was time for a summer upgrade and managed to pull together a set of 10 Speed 105. After 8 speed Sora 10 speed was quite a step up. So my current build is as follows:

Frame: Kinesis Racelight TK2 ~ 1500g?
Forks: Merida Ride - 396g cut
Stem: Deda Zero 1 80mm ~ 135g
Handlebars: Easton EA50 Ergo 40cm ~ 300g
Handlebar Tape: Lizard Skins DSP Race ~ 50g
Pedals: Either Shimano SPD-SL or SPD both about 300g
Saddle: Brooks Cambium C17 ~ 400g :oops:
Wheelset: Don't even go there ~ 1000000g
Cassette: Shimano 12-27 10 Speed - No idea

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-jILB ... G_0008.jpg

I don't have a good set of scales so I can't say the total weight which is good because its probably embarrassing. It's the lightest bike I've ever had though and I'm quite proud of it. I have lots of plans for it but right now I have a summer of riding planned which can't be interrupted because I feel that I have to fiddle with it. Fairly obviously my main priority is a new wheelset. After that I am going to look into knocking together some SRAM parts and maybe hitting 7Kg on an aluminium frame?

Thanks for looking