My fillet-brazed Columbus SL frame

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

jaibautista

by jaibautista

Hello everyone!

I've been a long-time lurker in these interwebs. Yet despite having been a WW forum member since 2012, I have yet to properly introduce myself, through the bikes I ride. So here it goes!

I have been riding the road bike since June 2010, mostly during weekends. In mid-2013, I decided to try out triathlon but had no enough money to buy another frame; a few months before that, I splurged all my savings to get myself a 2013 11v Campy Chorus groupset. Also, I have always believed (having read it here somewhere) that you only buy what you can afford to replace, hence as much as I would have wanted to splurge for a carbon triathlon frameset, I resisted. On the other hand, I was always interested to try out a steel frameset (my two previous frames, a Fuji ACR 1.0 and a CAAD9 BB30, were aluminium); fortunately, I was able to meet an excellent local framebuilder here in Manila who specializes in fillet-brazed steel frames, Sir Ave Maldea.

So I bought Columbus SL tubing from the local distributor and brought to him the tubes last December. I copied the geometry of a Lynskey T230 frame (size small) and let him do his magic. After four months of waiting (yes, that's how long the queue for his framesets!), I finally got the finished frame and had it painted in pearl white from a nearby auto paint shop. Although the paint workmanship is good, it could have been better. Hence, the next time I have it repainted, I'll go to a proper bike painter. Haha :)

With no further ado, I present to you my fillet-brazed Columbus SL triathlon bike:

Frame: Columbus SL tubing, fillet-brazed
Fork: Columbus SL tubing, fillet-brazed
Headset: Chris King NoThreadset, 1 1/8"
Handlebar: FSA Wing Pro, 42cm
Stem: Giant Connect, 90mm (w/ stainless steel bolts)
Seatpost: Thomson Elite, 27.2mm
Saddle: Fizik Tritone