Custom aero carbon DIY

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

Stefano

by Stefano

Hi WW,

I've been lurking here for forever, decided it was finally time to share my project with you all! I'm currently a Mechanical Engineering student at the University of Michigan, and my friend (Aerodynamicist/graduate student) and I decided that it would be cool to try to design a cutting-edge aerodynamic bike. Since we're around the same height, we designed a geometry to split the difference and hit it with all the aero tech we could think of. I designed the layup schedule and the manufacturing plan, and after about 8 months of redesigns and optimizations, we are about three weeks away from riding completed bikes!

According to our CFD, we are within 2 watts of a Cervelo S5. Once the frame is done, we will be going to the wind tunnel to validate those claims.

One of the more interesting aspects of our design is it's flexibility-- we can produce a monocoque frame with almost any stack/reach measurement for a total material cost of ~USD$850, plus labor and machining.

Here are some pics, enjoy! Please ask questions, I love to talk about the bike :)

initial CAD model in NX- under BB brakes, designed for 3T funda fork integration at headtube
Cutting the NDS half of the clamshell
Seatstay/chainstay moulds
Finished clamshells. Just gotta gel-coat and wax
Incomplete frame jig (gotta get parts made first!!) :lol:
Seat layup-- not pretty but works like a charm :)
Straight out of the mould
Little bit of trimming-- more to come

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

FilmAt11

by FilmAt11

Great Stefano! Can you describe the flexibility in the design to enable different sizes?
Last edited by FilmAt11 on Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TomHelly

by TomHelly

Keen to see how this turns out!