New to cycling // 2014 Specialized Allez

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

lrdunc

by lrdunc

Hi everyone,

I am a 28 year old guy, born and raised in Southern California, currently in Santa Monica. 5'9'' / 175cm; 153lbs / 69kg. I have been cycling now for about 4 months and can say with certainty that I'm hooked. I've always been exposed to cycling as my dad has ridden for nearly 40 years now (he has a 1980 Pinarello Treviso and a LOOK 585, both of which he has built up), but for whatever reason it took me this long to take the plunge.

Money no object, I would have built something up (F8 for Monday/Wednesday/Friday, LOOK 795 for Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday, naturally), but of course money is always an object. After doing some initial research, I decided to get this 2014 Specialized Allez Sport, 54cm:

I have ridden 1,300 miles / 2,092km so far and feel like I am finally starting to build up some stamina. Of course, this bike isn't even on the same planet as the vast majority of bikes on these forums, but what can I say? I am enjoying it thus far. Also, I can't really complain as I was able to purchase the bike new for USD $729 pre-tax.

I don't really see the point in breaking down the component list as there just isn't anything special going on here. That said, here is what I've added so far:

- Conti GP4000SII tires, 25mm
- Thomson Elite post, 188g
- Fizik Arione Versus saddle w/ K:IUM rails, 239g
- Ritchey WCS 4-Axis stem, 130mm, 120g
- Speedplay Zero Chrome-Moly, 216g/pair
- BlackBurn carbon cages, 54g/pair

Biggest cons with the bike (I realize there are many...be kind here):

- 9 speed Sora groupset
- stock wheels

With respect to the groupset, I just can't afford SRAM Red / Dura Ace. Is it worth trying to find a deal on Ultegra? Or should I just stick with what I've got?