My WW Cervelo S5

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

ictus

by ictus

Hello,

A few weeks ago I got myself the Cervelo S5 Ultegra with Fulcrum 3.5 wheels. I was given a great deal by the LBS of 1k off! Even so I almost went with the Felt AR4 and rode both bikes at least 15 times each before finally deciding on the S5. In the 'stock' config the bike was around 17.1 lbs.

I am new to the world of weight-weenies. In practical terms, bike weight is not a huge deal to me. My daily rider for a while has been a Giant Anyroad 1. At 24lbs it is not even close to light and I like it fine the way it is; however, I have been having fun upgrading my Cervelo S5 and making it lighter.

I will state right out of the gate that I am doing this mostly for my own amusement; I fully understand that any 'performance gains' from lowering weight (beyond a 'decent' weight) would be measured in numbers that round to zero... (aka virtually meaningless to a hobbyist like myself). Still, I find it exciting subbing out new parts on the bike and getting that number down and then taking the bike for a spin and feeling how "zippy" it is. And I fully admit that some parts are chosen as much for the look as the performance. And I am not interested in parts that are so light that they sacrifice performance (within reason!).

Stock Parts on Cervelo S5 (51cm):
Rotor 3DF crankset
Fizik Antares Saddle
Ultegra groupset
3T Ergonova PRO Bars
3T ARX II Pro Stem (140g)
Fulcrum Racing 3.5 wheelset (~1750g? only stat I found is from ebay... I'll weight them myself tomorrow)
with Vittoria tubes

So far here is a list of things I have upgraded:

Omni Racing Skewers (42g)
Tune Headset Cap (~5g)
TriRig Omega Brakes (124g ea)
Antares 00 Seat (~143g)
KMC X11SL DLC (~233g in black and red with extra links removed)
Zipp 202 Tubular wheelset (actually comes in tomorrow, pumped! ~1180g)
SRAM XG 11-25 cassette (waiting for the zipps to install this)