Cannondale, Lefty, Hardtail, Single a Speed, Black. YES!

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

weeracerweenie

by weeracerweenie

By no means new here, been kicking around for a while. The drilling, dremelling, paint scraping type. Aaaannnnd this is no different. I've been riding Single speed here in Nz for 5 years. I'm only 19, and having to line up next to my buddy Anton Cooper (Junior World XC champ, and Commonwealth Gold) makes it hard to see the top step of the podium. So I took to the category he wasn't in and did pretty well.

I used to ride an old Reiker. 26" 48-16 Gearing. Won Open Men's night racing series on it 3years in a row, and junior nation single speed champ too. But then a little Cannondale Lefty single speed popped up for sale so I brought it. $800 with a fresh fork service and new Conti Race King Tyres. Awesome deal.

Won another Night race series, this time on 43-15 gearing on a 29er. Now the series is run during winter, and here in NZ it's cold and wet. So post-series I went to give the bearings some more love than usual and found that, one of the headset, bottom bracket and both the rear wheel bearings were completely seized. Yay. Next thing I knew it was down to bare frame.