Project UCI who? 2011 S-Works Shiv build.

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

ProfessorChaos
in the industry

by ProfessorChaos

So I bought my first TT bike last year, and I LOVED it. It was one of those ah ha moments, when I could finally justify the reasoning behind the existence of TT/Tri bikes. The thing was fast. It was just an old aluminum Cervelo P3, but on a flat course it was noticeably, and measurably faster than my Cervelo S2 road bike. I did my first TT race on it too, and I was very happy with my performance. I instantly found a desire to race more TT's. Unfortunately, a friend of mine crashed the P3, and it died a horrible death. The thing was, as soon as I started riding it. I wanted a better, and lighter TT bike anyway. So she just helped me move along the process a bit faster, leaving along a trail of carnage behind her.

So that gave birth to this new project. As fate would have it I came across a 2011 Shiv frameset, and it is my new project. I was planning to buy a 2013-14 Shiv TT module, but this deal could not be passed up. I mean if it is good enough for Tony Martin, and Fabian to beat the best in the world on, the Shiv should be plenty fast for me. I would have preferred the newer paint, but the nosecone is more aero, and it's banned by the UCI so it must be good, right? Anyway so here it is as I brought it home:

It is still missing the nosecone, and all the proprietary pieces to go a long with that, but I have sourced them, and I will be acquiring them very shortly. I also picked up a Specialized Sitero Pro for this build, and I like it a lot. I was so anxious to try it, I've been using it on my S2 on the trainer, and rollers. So far I really like it, and I am anxious to spending long days on it, and the Shiv.