Skunkworks: An Open Mold Invades Italy (update 12/20)

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

seanblurr

by seanblurr

While the original meaning of the term Skunkworks used by Lockheed Martin during WW2 to develop fighter aircraft is still around, the term has become more generic, like ‘Tissue’ (despite being a registered trade mark), and in todays world it can mean anything from a group creating a project together, or an unknown entity producing a product. I first heard the term used back when I was involved in racing cars referring to a certain 'skunkworks' engine builder. This mentality fits with this bike build. While I am no engineer, and everything was bought (I even had a LBS put it together!), I decided to drop the glamour of a name brand frame, and set out to build a top-level bicycle with a budget. I introduce you, to Skunkworks. (There may be a ghost sticker on the bike at some point…).

I pieced together the bike over a few months because of my budget minded shopping. Only a hand full of parts were bought at full price, while most were discounted via sites like Chain Love, Ebay or here. Because of that I easily saved a few grand in the overall cost. While this is WW, there were only two weights that I was really concerned about; the frame, and the completed bike. Therefore I do not have a weight list, however all the parts are name brand and weights are posted around the net…

Let’s get to the bike.

The frame is a FM-069 from Hong-Fu. Overall, the look and feel of the frame is quite good. At a size 50 it scaled in at 880 grams, a tad heavier then I thought, but still decent. It took about a month to get to me, but that was due to the fact that it was sent to the US, and then forwarded to me in Italy. So far, great experience with Hong-Fu. Below is the complete build list:

Complete bike weight as pictured (6.68kg/14.7lbs)

Frame – Hong Fu FM-069 (880g)