Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2016 3:58 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 199 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 914 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 844
Location: Mårslet, Denmark
Finally got the brakes installed. It's much easier to insert the pads in the pad holders, so it seems Ciamillo has changed them a bit. These are the super narrow ones, so I need to use the supplied spacers. The new aluminium quick release is very loose on these brakes, a bit too much to my liking, but they should not bind as the old had a tendency to do. I bought the nice ti bolts for it and need to modify some others to replace the cable bolt.

Image

No matter what I did to adjust the FD I couldn't make the chain stop rubbing the cage. The MKV chainrings are apparently just not stiff enough for me as I could see them flexing a few milimeters when I put the power down. So now I will try these Praxis ones and just using my hands to bend them they feel quite a bit stiffer. The next ride will show.

Image

_________________
It's online again:The Machinist

My CAAD10:http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=109014


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:34 am
Posts: 288
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Looking awesome... the brakes AND the Leva Times.

_________________
2012 Canyon Aeroad CF 8.0 Di2
2014 Canyon Ultimate CF SLX Di2


Top
   
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:18 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:49 pm
Posts: 140
Andres,

This is the CAAD 8 project I started few days ago, I dont see when i'll find free time to finish it. I love your bike, they look great!
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 844
Location: Mårslet, Denmark
Thanks, it kind of never ends. There is always the next nicething to add. Can't see any picture.

_________________
It's online again:The Machinist

My CAAD10:http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=109014


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:56 am
Posts: 273
Location: Ontario, Canada
Great looking bike!

What do you think of the Reynolds assaults? Those are the clinchers i presume? Ive been trying to decide on rims for a new wheelset (still not sure about tubular vs clincher either) and was curious as to how much aero benefit the reynolds provide.

_________________
Sur La Plaque!

2012 Ridley Damocles RS
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=111632
2012 Dekerf Team SST
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=112060&p=957055#p957055


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 844
Location: Mårslet, Denmark
I have only done two rides on the bike so the jury is still out. But I can tell you they are quite sensitive to cross wind, more than I had expected.

_________________
It's online again:The Machinist

My CAAD10:http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=109014


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 3:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:56 am
Posts: 273
Location: Ontario, Canada
Okay, thats really good to know!

_________________
Sur La Plaque!

2012 Ridley Damocles RS
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=111632
2012 Dekerf Team SST
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=112060&p=957055#p957055


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 8:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 844
Location: Mårslet, Denmark
I tried a colleagues Ultegra Di2 bike and the Red was sold the next day. Just waiting for the Ultegra Di2 upgrade kit to arrive. I'll do an internal installation of the down tube wire and junctipn box. Yes I need to drill a hole in the top tube as shown below :shock: The rest will be external for now. The only way to get the junction box into the down tube is through the headtube as the hole in the BB in too small to let it pass. Interesting to see how smooth this goes.

I'm going Ultegra as I will stick to 10 speed for now and it just much less money than going Dura Ace. I'll probably switch to the internal battery later.

Image

Image

_________________
It's online again:The Machinist

My CAAD10:http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=109014


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 9:32 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:45 pm
Posts: 353
Location: UK
this will be one sweet ride!

_________________
Madone Five Series 2013
Shimano Dura-Ace 9000
Mavic Cosmic SLE 2013


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 4:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:37 pm
Posts: 114
I'm considering the exact same installation and can't wait to see how yours turns out. Hope you take lots of pictures!
Do you know how you're going to drill holes in the head tube?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 5:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 844
Location: Mårslet, Denmark
The hole will be made in the top tube as shown in the last picture using a normal drill. Will start out with a 2mm and go up to 6mm.

_________________
It's online again:The Machinist

My CAAD10:http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=109014


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 4:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:37 pm
Posts: 114
Anders wrote:
The hole will be made in the top tube as shown in the last picture using a normal drill. Will start out with a 2mm and go up to 6mm.


Ah. How will you get the cable into the downtube? Are there holes in the headtube at the top tube and down tube junctions? Amazing looking bike by the way.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 12:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 844
Location: Mårslet, Denmark
Yes there are and of cause also at the BB. The only place there seem to be no hole between the tube intersections is from the BB to the right chain stay. Anyway I don't want to drill in the chain stay. I'll route the cable out the bottom of the hole in the BB and on the underside of the chain stay to the RD. Thank for the heads up. I know it won't look as nice with the Di2, but it just shift so much better. Actually I'm also considering selling off the wheels an buy a set of 2013 Ksyrium SLR or R-Sys SLR to replace them. And I thought I had finished this build :roll:

EDIT: There is a hole to each chain stay from the BB.

_________________
It's online again:The Machinist

My CAAD10:http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=109014


Last edited by Anders on Mon May 13, 2013 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 9:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:37 pm
Posts: 114
Awesome. I look forward to seeing the new version of your bike! Hopefully with lots of pictures of the Di2 install for those of us planning to follow in your footsteps.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 9:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 844
Location: Mårslet, Denmark
First step. Drilled a 2.5mm hole initially and then went up to 5.5mm. The connector is 5.1mm. The grommets SM-GM01 should be 6mm in diameter but I'm thinking they may sit more stable in a 5.5mm hole. If they won't fit it's an easy fix. I'll wait on drilling the hole for the FD until I receive the parts.

Image

Image

_________________
It's online again:The Machinist

My CAAD10:http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=109014


Top
   
Posted: Tue May 14, 2013 9:58 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 199 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 914 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. So, the off-season has been all Di2 and E-tap... FSA, Rotor?

in Road

FreaK

10

1051

Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:01 pm

wingguy View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Said goodbye to my 3 season drivetrain...

in Road

mdeth1313

12

1585

Fri Jun 10, 2016 5:13 am

Rick View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Colnago Headset Installation Please HELP

in Road

pdiomidis

9

468

Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:38 am

pdiomidis View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. eebrakes installation issue

in Road

tomso

7

1112

Thu May 12, 2016 4:26 pm

jrmynthn View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. sigma out front mount installation..

in Road

addict

1

313

Tue Mar 15, 2016 2:54 pm

addict View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: damond, Google [Bot], jrmynthn, MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited