Moving away from UST am I crazy??

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Macros

by Macros

Moving away from UST am I crazy??

I have been running UST for the last two years and have gone from “love them they are the only thing to run” to “hate them when they work they work well but when they don’t what a mess”

I have decided to sell my slick looking Mavic CrossMax because of the following:

1. Side wall punctures do not seal (I run a full bottle of slim in each tire)
2. Tires are expensive and I have a cupboard full of them with holes in the side wall
3. I run CrossMax with Slim (400g) and Hutchinson Python (1.3kg) and will save about 700g if I run Extralight with tire liners and slim tubes

Am I crazy??

elendil

by elendil

No.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

alain

by alain

No. you're not.

I did the same thing as you this year and have raced with DT wheels/Twister Supersonic and Vittoria Latex tubes. Sure, I need more air in the tyres and the grip is slightly worse than UST but for me riding non-UST was a cheaper and much lighter alternative.

I think we should not forget that there was a life before UST :)

King Weel

by King Weel

I dont think so. I did ride Crossmax SL with Pythons; loved them, had no punctures, but regarded them as very heavy, moreover, rolling weight counts double... I don't need the exra grip or puncture protection due to my relatively lightweight ('am a weightweenie without notice...) so I decided to run crossmax with Racing Ralph or Musquitos (don't know which are better in Holland) and use a lightweight inner tube or Eclipse.
Specialized S-Works Allez (the shiny one :) )
Turner Czar custom
Working on a new S-Works Tarmac custom!

Smahatma

by Smahatma