New Bike = Advice Needed

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

cadence90

by cadence90

Wow, this room is different. 8)
I've been over on the roadie side awhile, never really came across the hall...but I do recognize some names.

I am having a new road frame and a new MTB ti frame (hardtail) made.
The MTB will be used for general trail riding, commuting, not hard dh stuff and no racing, etc. I weigh about 195#.

I am new to whole MTB thing, so I know 0 about components really.
I am also on an MTB component budget, so excellent condition used or NIB old stock is fine.

What suggestions do you all have for drivetrain, shifters, wheels, fork, pedals, everything/anything you can think of.
Durability/quality take precedence over weight/zoot.
Basic price/source info if you know it would be appreciated too.

I know it's a lot to ask: Thanks in advance. :)

O, do I need a new avatar to be admitted to this area of the house...? I hope not! :P
"Gimondi è un eroe umano, che viene sconfitto ma che continua la sua corsa fino a tornare a vincere." - Enrico Ruggeri

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Tim the Pineapple

by Tim the Pineapple

Umm commuting, buy a beater fir that, mtb aint exacly bomb or theft proof...

This is my personal opinion but i think it's better to start with standard stuff like shimano, but don't go any lower than LX (I dont think its worth it).

But we need to know how much yer willing to spend ya know... It would be easier to help, with parts choice.

cadence90

by cadence90

The frame is set, it's a given, because it's a special situation and a friend who's building it.

I don't mind commuting on a nice bike, and that won't be it's only or even primary use. My bikes don't get stolen: they're under me or at my desk. :)