need to put my kids new 27.5 on a diet.

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

cruxarchd

by cruxarchd

Hello all. I am looking for advice on how to lighten up my 10yo daughter’s MTB. It is a new 2014 xxs Rocky Mountain Fusion 27.5. I got a great deal on it, but its a bit on the heavy side at 29.54 pounds. My daughter should have it for a while, so I am willing to spend a little money on the bike. My goal is to get it to around 25 pounds, which is where my bike and her mom’s bike is.

I am totally new to this, and am of average mechanical skill and knowledge. I have not torn it down to weigh a bunch of parts, but the specs are here: http://www.bikes.com/en/bikes/sport-tra ... usion-27-5

I did weigh the front wheel (alex td26 with shimano rm35)/tire combo and it was 2.070kg. For contrast, her mom’s (tubless) front wheel equivalent is 1.7kg.

The seat and post are definitely heavy, but I am not sure how much can be saved there.

The shock is the rockshox xc30, also heavy.

She is 4’11” and has a 29” inseam. I am not sure if the cranks are appropriate, so may consider replacing the cranks(Shimano Deore 170-175mm 44/32/22T 9spd) and cassette (shimano hg-20-9spd)

Any specific suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

TheRookie

by TheRookie

Replace the heavy stock wired bead tyres with folding, will save at least 100g and get a better tyre. Those tyres are circa 700g, my Schwalbe (Nic/Ron/Ralph in 26") are sub 500g.

Go tubeless or at least go to lightweight tubes (a not to pricey lightweight from Schwalbe or Continental will save 60g over a stock 200g tube).

Attention to detail can save a lot for little money, for example you could just cut down the seatpost to get 100mm insertion and then replace with a better (lighter) post. when she grows.

Replacing the fork with an air fork with alloy stanchions will save over half a KG. Something like an XC32 gold or Suntour Epicon/Epixon.